Who Has Won In The Olympics for Tennis?

Who Has Won The Olympics For Tennis

The Olympic Games are where the best athletes of the world come to mark their names in history, trying to win an Olympic medal. Those who do are celebrated and remembered by their countries, and become part of a select group of special people who get the honor of calling themselves Olympic medalists. For all sports this group is filled with some of the greatest names in history, and it is no different in tennis. Through the sport's history in the Olympics some of the sport's greatest of all time have won the Olympics.

Tennis players like Roger Federer, Venus Williams, Andre Agassi, and Serena Williams have marked their names in Olympic history, winning a gold medal in the Games. The tennis athletes with the most gold medals in Olympic history are sisters Serena and Venus Williams, and Max Decugis, all with four golds each.

Tennis has 5 events in the Olympics, which are:

  • Men's Singles
  • Women's Singles
  • Men's Doubles
  • Women's Doubles
  • Mixed Doubles

In addition to those, between 1908 and 1912 there were indoor tennis events, which also gave out medals. With 5 different events, athletes have the chance to win more than one gold medal in the same edition of the Olympic Games.

Notable Tennis Gold Medalists


  • Andy Murray (2012 singles, 2016 singles)
  • Rafael Nadal (2016, doubles, 2008 singles)
  • Max Decugis (1906 singles, doubles and mixed doubles, 1920 mixed doubles)
  • Andre Agassi (1996 singles)
  • Boris Becker (1992 doubles)
  • Roger Federer (2008 doubles)


  • Venus Williams (2000 singles and doubles, 2008 doubles, 2012 doubles)
  • Serena Williams (2000 doubles, 2008 doubles, 2012 singles and doubles)
  • Steffi Graffi (1988 singles)
  • Gigi Fernandez (1992 doubles, 1996 doubles)
  • Mary Joe Fernandez (1992 doubles, 1996 doubles)