What Is The Hopman Cup In Tennis?

The Hopman Cup is an international tennis tournament featuring eight teams of men and women. Traditionally held in Perth, Australia, the tournament has moved to Nice, France for the 2023 edition. Keep reading to learn more about the Hopman Cup in tennis.

What Is the Hopman Cup?

  • Founded: 1989
  • Court Surface: Hard Court
  • Venue: Nice Lawn Tennis Club
  • Location: Nice, France
  • Most Titles by Country: United States (6 wins)
  • Most Men’s Wins: Roger Federer (3 wins)
  • Most Women’s Wins: Serena Williams, Arantxa Sánchez Vicario, Belinda Bencic (2 wins)
  • Prize Money: $15 million USD

The Hopman Cup is an international tennis tournament featuring mixed-gender teams from eight different nations. The tournament is held once a year, but was replaced in 2020 by the ATP Cup, a brand new event. The event is expected to return in 2023, after being announced as returning in 2021 In December of 2021, the International Tennis Federation (ITF), the governing body for this tournament, announced that the 2023 Hopman Cup would be held in Nice, France. It is currently scheduled to occur on July 19-23, 2023.

Hopman Cup History

The first Hopman Cup was held in 1989 in the Burswood Dome in Perth, Australia, until 2013, when the location was moved to the newly built Perth Arena. The tournament itself is named after legendary tennis player Harry Hopman, who brought 16 Davis Cup Titles to the nation of Australia and was an overall leader for the sport of tennis.

Players such as Roger Federer expressed displeasure over the decision to not continue the Hopman Cup when it was replaced in 2020. The protesting players argued that the style of the Hopman Cup tournament allowed for a unique format that put star players against one another. In 2019, for example, Roger Federer, Serena Williams, Angelique Kerber and Garbine Muguruza all ranked number one in the world at some point in their careers, and all of them competed against one another in the Hopman Cup. Thankfully, with the tournament set to resume in 2023, fans and players alike can look forward to their favorite tennis stars facing off for the Hopman Cup again.

Tennis Players With Multiple Hopman Cup Wins

The following players have multiple Hopman Cup wins:

  • Roger Federer - 3 wins (2001, 2018, 2019)
  • Belinda Bencic - 2 wins (2018, 2019)
  • Tommy Robredo - 2 wins (2002, 2010)
  • Dominik Hrbatý - 2 wins (2005, 2009)
  • Serena Williams - 2 wins (2003, 2008)
  • Arantxa Sánchez Vicario - 2 wins (1990, 2002)


How does the Hopman Cup work?

The Hopman Cup is an eight-team tournament with each team representing a different country. The first round is a round-robin group stage. Each matchup between two teams consists of one women’s singles match, one men’s singles match, and one mixed doubles match. The team with the best win record in each round-robin group advances to the final matchup, which determines the Hopman Cup champion.

When is the Hopman Cup?

The Hopman Cup is an annual tournament that takes place every July. After being removed from the schedule for three years, the 2023 edition of the Hopman Cup will be held in Nice, France, from July 19-23.