What Are The Rules for Challenges In Tennis?

What Are The Rules For Challenges In Tennis

Challenges in tennis are fairly new, but already involve one of the momostre accurate replay systems in all of sports. Replay in the tennis world, also known as Hawkeye, is a 3D representation of the tennis court in order to determine if a ball is to hit the out of bounds line or not. The technology uses cameras stationed all around the court to get the best and most accurate information to the officials in order to score matches as perfectly as possible, leading to more accurate challenge decisions.

Just like in any other sport, there are rules and limitations to amounts and use of challenges by players in a match.

Five Challenge Rules

There are five strict rules that players must follow when challenging during a match in tennis:

  • Two Challenges
  • Successful Challenges
  • Failed Challenges
  • Tie-Break Challenges
  • No Carry Over

Two Challenges

Players are only granted two challenges per each set that is played. If they were to use up their two challenges, they would have to wait for the next set to use another one no matter how bad a call may seem.

Successful Challenges

If a player were to use one of their challenges and it is successful,the call is changed and the player maintains the same number of challenges that they had before using it. This means, as long as they keep getting their challenges correct, they could realistically have an unlimited amount of challenges in each set.

Failed Challenges

If a player challenges a call and it fails, they lose that challenge and it gets subtracted from the amount that they had. For example, if a player has two challenges remaining in a set and then uses and loses a challenge, they would be down to one challenge.

Tie-Break Challenges

During a tie-break situation, a player will receive an additional challenge to their total for the set. This ensures that each player has at least one challenge going into the tie-break.

No Carry Over

Challenges do not carry over from set to set. This means that each set will start with two challenges no matter how many the player had left over from the previous one. These rules became uniform throughout the professional tennis world in 2008.