HomeMore Sports


Olympic GamesAll SportsArticlesQuestionsCan Pro Boxers Compete In The Olympics?Do NBA Players Play In The Olympics?For The 2020 Summer Olympics Did The Us Mens Soccer Team Qualify?How Do Athletes Qualify To Compete In Judo For The Olympics?How Do You Qualify For Shooting In The Olympics?How Do You Qualify To Compete In Tennis For The Olympics?How Does Olympics Betting Work?How Does Scoring Work In The Olympics?How Many Soccer Teams Are In The Olympics?Is Archery In The Olympics?Is Basketball In The 2020 Olympics?Is Karate In The 2024 Summer Olympics?Is Kerri Walsh Going To The 2020 Olympics?Is Shooting An Olympic Sport?Is The Sport Of Judo In The Olympics?Is There Female Boxing In The Olympics?Is Triathlon An Olympic Sport?What Are The Dimensions Of An Olympic Swimming Pool?What Are The Lanes Used For In Olympic Swimming?What Are The Main Distances In A Olympic Triathlon?What Is An Olympic Triathlon?What Is The Age Limit For Shooting In The Olympics?What New Sports Are In The 2020 Olympics?What Shooting Events Are In The Olympics?What Type Of Boats Are Used In The Olympics?What Type Of Karate Is In The Olympics?What are the rules of olympics?What type of fencing is in the Olympics?When Was Fencing Added To The Summer Olympics?When Was Handball Added To The Olympics?Who Won The 2016 Basketball Olympics?Who Won The 2016 Summer Olympics For Fencing?Who Won The Beach Volleyball Olympics 2016?Who invented the Olympics?Why was Baseball Removed From The Olympics?
  1. Home
  2. Olympic Games
  3. How Do You Qualify To Compete In Tennis For The Olympics?

How Do You Qualify To Compete In Tennis For The Olympics?

Olympic Tennis Qualification
Rafael Nadal represented Spain in the 2016 Rio Olympics
  • 64 individuals
  • Top 56 ranked players
  • 1 player from host country
  • 1 player from each continent
  • Previous gold medalist or grand slam champion
  • 32 teams
  • Top 10 ranked players and their partners
  • 1 team from host country
  • Next 21-highest ranked players and their partners

Number of Qualifiers for Olympic Tennis

In the Olympics, there are two different tournaments for both men and women: the singles and the doubles. In the singles, 64 individuals compete for the gold medal. In the doubles, 32 teams made of 2 players compete to get onto the podium. Each country can send a maximum of six players to the Olympics in tennis.

Tennis Rankings

Olympic qualification is mainly based on a player's world ranking. There are two governing bodies in tennis: the Women's Tennis Association (WTA) and the Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP). Each week, both organizations rank the world's best tennis players based on a points system. A player gets points by finishing highly in major tournaments, like the Australian Open or the Pan-American Games

Olympic Singles Tennis Qualification

The top 56 ranked competitors in the ATP and WTA are selected for the men's and women's tournaments. Six of the remaining spots in each category are reserved to make sure that each continent is represented in the Olympics. These spots are filled by winners of tournaments like the Pan-American Games and the European Championships.

One spot is saved for either an Olympic Gold Medalist or a Grand-Slam champion that failed to qualify by being ranked in the top 56 worldwide. The last spot is reserved for the host country to select a competitor.

Olympic Doubles Tennis Qualification

The top ten ranked ATP and WTA players automatically qualify for the doubles competition, and each player chooses a partner from the same country. The host country automatically gets to select a team to compete. The remainder of the bracket is filled by the next-ranked competitors and their partners of choice.