How Many Super Bowls Have The Cowboys Won?

How Many Super Bowls Have The Cowboys Won

The Dallas Cowboys, also known as “America’s Team,” have been one of the most successful NFL franchises of all time. They have built a global brand, with owner Jerry Jones becoming one of the most notorious leaders in sports. At the Super Bowl, the Cowboys have made eight appearances and won five times. Their five Super Bowl victories tie them for third-most all-time with the San Francisco 49ers and just one win shy of the leaders, the Pittsburgh Steelers and New England Patriots.

Cowboys Super Bowl Wins

  • Super Bowl VI (1972)
  • Super Bowl XII (1978)
  • Super Bowl XXVII (1993)
  • Super Bowl XXVII (1994)
  • Super Bowl XXX (1996)

The Cowboys’ First Super Bowl Win

The Cowboys made their first appearance in the Super Bowl in 1970, losing Super Bowl V to the Baltimore Colts. However, one year later, the Cowboys returned to the big game and avenged their loss by securing a dominant victory over the Miami Dolphins 24-3. The Cowboys’ legendary quarterback Roger Staubach won the Most Valuable Player honors in Super Bowl VI by completing 12 of 19 passes for 119 yards and two touchdowns, including one to Hall of Famer Mike Ditka. The Cowboys continued their strong run in the early years of the Super Bowl’s existence by again making the big game in Super Bowl X, where they lost narrowly to the Pittsburgh Steelers.

The Cowboys at Super Bowl XII

Super Bowl XII was another chance for the Cowboys to redeem themselves after a tough loss in Super X two years earlier. This time around, the Cowboys squared off with the Denver Broncos. Thanks to a dominant defensive performance, Dallas was able to win the title by a final score of 27-10. The Most Valuable Player award was split by a pair of defensive linemen, Harvey Martin and Randy White, who earned the honor by combining for three sacks in the game. A year later, the Cowboys again made it to the Super Bowl but came up short against the Pittsburgh Steelers, losing by a score of 35-31.

Cowboys’ Super Bowl Dominance in the 1990s

Perhaps the greatest era of Cowboys football came in the 1990s, during which the team secured three Super Bowl victories. The first came in Super Bowl XXVII in 1993, when they faced off against the high-powered Buffalo Bills offense at the Rose Bowl. The Cowboys dominated the Bills on both sides of the ball, winning the game in a blowout with a final score of 52-17. Star quarterback Troy Aikman won the Most Valuable Player award by completing 22 of 30 passes for 273 yards and four touchdowns.

The following year, the Cowboys and Bills met for a rematch in Super Bowl XXVIII, and again the Cowboys won in a dominant fashion. The 30-13 game was controlled by Most Valuable Player and Cowboys star running back Emmitt Smith, who took 30 carries for 132 yards and two touchdowns. Two years later, in Super Bowl XXX, the Cowboys finally got revenge against Pittsburgh by beating their rivals 27-17, with defensive back Larry Brown winning MVP honors.


When was the last time the Cowboys won the Super Bowl?

The last time the Cowboys won the Super Bowl was on January 26th, 1996. That day, the Cowboys won Super Bowl XXX in Arizona by a score of 27-17 over the Pittsburgh Steelers. Defensive back Larry Brown won the Super Bowl Most Valuable Player honor, while,  on the other side of the ball, Emmitt Smith ran for two touchdowns to help secure the win for the Cowboys. This victory avenged two previous Super Bowl losses to Pittsburgh in their last two matchups in the big game.

When was the Cowboys’ first Super Bowl win?

The Dallas Cowboys won their first-ever Super Bowl on January 16th, 1972, in Tulane Stadium against the Miami Dolphins by a score of 24-3. The Cowboys were coming off a devastating 16-13 loss in the previous year’s Super Bowl but were able to avenge it with a dominant performance against Miami. Roger Staubach won the Most Valuable Player award by completing a pair of touchdown passes in the victory.

What Cowboys players have been Super Bowl MVP?

In each Cowboys Super Bowl victory, a different player has won the Most Valuable Player award. In their first Super Bowl in 1972, quarterback Roger Staubach won the award by throwing for 119 yards and a pair of touchdown passes. In the team’s next victory in 1978, defensive lineman Harvey Martin and Randy White both earned the honor by combining for three sacks. In the 1990s, Troy Aikman, Emmitt Smith, and Larry Brown each won an MVP following three Cowboys Super Bowl victories.