More Sportssoccer1 on 112th man3-5-2 formation4-1-4-1 formation4-2-3-1 formation4-2-4 formation4-3-3 formation4-4-2 formation4-5-1 formationaggregate scorefifa world cupassociation footballatlanta united fcchicago firecolorado rapidscolumbus crew scdc unitedendlinefc cincinnatifc dallasfootball versus soccerfourth officialgdhistoryhouston dynamohow does scoring work in soccer?soccer or footballIs Soccer An Olympic Sport?la galaxylearnlos angeles fcminnesota united fcmls promotion and relegationmls soccer club processmontreal impactnew england revolutionnew york city fcnew york red bullsoffsidesorlando city scphiladelphia unionportland timbersreal salt lakesan jose earthquakesseattle sounders fcslide tackle1-2-7 formation1012 on 12-3-5 formation3 on 24-3-2-1 formation4-4-1-1 formation4-6-0 formation5-4-1 formationadded timeadvantage ruleafrica cup of nationsarticlesattacking halfattacking midfielderattacking thirdaway goals ruleback pass ruleback tacklebasicsboundary rulesbreakawaybundesligabylinecap tiedcaptaincdmcenter circlecenter forwardcenter spotcenterbackclean sheetclearclock rulescoin toss rulescomposurecornercorner flagcorner kickscrosscut the angledead ball rulesdefenderdefender typesdefensedefensemandefensive halfdefensive midfielderdefensive thirddefensive walldeflectiondesignated player ruledrawdribblerdribblingengland premier leagueenglish football associationequalizerequipment listextra timefcfield componentsfield dimensionsfield of playfifafinal whistleflopsfootworkformationsforwardfoulsfreekickfullbackgame clock rulesgame lengthgame typesgoal areagoal kickgoal linegoal line technologygoalkeepergolden goalhalftime ruleshat trickhead refereeholding midfielderinstep kick and passinterceptintermissionkickoffleagueslinesmanlingolinkmanman to manmiddle thirdmidfieldmidfield anchormidfield linemidfielderfranchise relocationmls teams listnear postneutral groundoffenseoffensive strategyoffensive halfofficials and refereesout of boundsoutside backpass typepassing rulespenatly arcpenalty areapenalty boxpenalty cardspenalty kickpenalty shootoutpenalty shotpenalty spotpenalty takerperiodpitchpitch invasionpitch linesplayer positionpoacherspossessionpostred cardrefereerelegationrulesscoring rulesset pieceshapeshootingshooting techniqueshootout rulesshort handedshot typessidelinesquad rotation systemstoppage timestopperstrikersubstitution rulessummarysweepertacklethe fieldthirds of the fieldthrow instimeoutstop cornertouchlinetournaments listtransfer windowturnovertwo legged tietwo way midfielderuefa champions leagueunited states national teamunsportsmanlike conductvar instant replaywingeryellow cardsporting kansas citystreet soccertop 10 rulesthree lions (football's coming home)top 10 brandstop 5 ranked mens players of all timetop womens playerstoronto fcvancouver whitecapsrules of soccerWhat Is Considered A Foul In Soccer?footballsoccer in america
  1. soccer
  2. uefa champions league

Soccer Uefa Champions League

Table of Contents

Soccer UEFA Champions League

The UEFA Champions League decides which team is crowned the Champion of Europe. The tournament consists of 32 teams, but 78 or 79 teams compete for those 32 spots. Some teams will automatically qualify for those 32 spots due to finishing at the top of a premier European league or based on successful champions league performances in the past. The rest of the 32 spots are given to teams who perform well in a qualifying tournament. There is also a UEFA coefficient, which determines how many teams from each European country get spots in the round of 32. This coefficient gives countries who have achieved greater success on the national stage, and in previous Champions League competitions more bids for the round of 32, which is why you will often see 3-5 teams from powerful soccer countries such as Spain, England, Germany, Italy, and France.

UEFA (Union of European Football Associations) is an organization consisting of 55 European nations. This organization runs European football competitions such as the Champions League and Europa League. A tournament that pits the best club teams from across Europe against each other. There is a group stage, followed by knockout stage and final. The Champions League Final is one of the most watched sporting events in the World.

How do the UEFA champions league playoffs work?

The teams that make up the 32 team fields are split up into 8 groups of 4, which are determined by a random draw. The teams play round robin style within their groups. Teams receive 3 points for every win, 1 point for every draw, and no points for every loss. The 2 teams with the most points advance to the final 16. If two teams have the same amount of points the away goal rule is always used in the Champions league. This means that the team with the most goals scored in away games in higher in the standings. In the round of 16, teams that finished first in their groups will face a team that finished second in a group other than their own. Once the round of 16 in complete there is a random draw to decide the bracket for the remaining 8 teams.

The round of 16, quarterfinals, and the semi finals are all played in a two legged manner, meaning that each matchup will consist of the two opponents playing each other twice. There is a game at each team's home field. The winner of the two game series is determined by goal aggregate. The final game which determines the European champion is a single match. If the game is tied at the end of regulation than there are two 15 minute periods of extra time. If the game is still tied at the end of extra time, then there is a Penalty Shootout to determine the winner.


Sports LeaguesSoccer Articles