More Sportssoccer1 on 112th man3-5-2 formation4-1-4-1 formation4-2-3-1 formation4-2-4 formation4-3-3 formation4-4-2 formation4-5-1 formationaggregate scorefifa world cupassociation footballatlanta united fcchicago firecolorado rapidscolumbus crew scdc unitedendlinefc cincinnatifc dallasfootball versus soccerfourth officialgdhistoryhouston dynamohow does scoring work in soccer?soccer or footballIs Soccer An Olympic Sport?la galaxylearnlos angeles fcminnesota united fcmls promotion and relegationmls soccer club processmontreal impactnew england revolutionnew york city fcnew york red bullsoffsidesorlando city scphiladelphia unionportland timbersreal salt lakesan jose earthquakesseattle sounders fcslide tackle1-2-7 formation1012 on 12-3-5 formation3 on 24-3-2-1 formation4-4-1-1 formation4-6-0 formation5-4-1 formationadded timeadvantage ruleafrica cup of nationsarticlesattacking halfattacking midfielderattacking thirdaway goals ruleback pass ruleback tacklebasicsboundary rulesbreakawaybundesligabylinecap tiedcaptaincdmcenter circlecenter forwardcenter spotcenterbackclean sheetclearclock rulescoin toss rulescomposurecornercorner flagcorner kickscrosscut the angledead ball rulesdefenderdefender typesdefensedefensemandefensive halfdefensive midfielderdefensive thirddefensive walldeflectiondesignated player ruledrawdribblerdribblingengland premier leagueenglish football associationequalizerequipment listextra timefcfield componentsfield dimensionsfield of playfifafinal whistleflopsfootworkformationsforwardfoulsfreekickfullbackgame clock rulesgame lengthgame typesgoal areagoal kickgoal linegoal line technologygoalkeepergolden goalhalftime ruleshat trickhead refereeholding midfielderinstep kick and passinterceptintermissionkickoffleagueslinesmanlingolinkmanman to manmiddle thirdmidfieldmidfield anchormidfield linemidfielderfranchise relocationmls teams listnear postneutral groundoffenseoffensive strategyoffensive halfofficials and refereesout of boundsoutside backpass typepassing rulespenatly arcpenalty areapenalty boxpenalty cardspenalty kickpenalty shootoutpenalty shotpenalty spotpenalty takerperiodpitchpitch invasionpitch linesplayer positionpoacherspossessionpostred cardrefereerelegationrulesscoring rulesset pieceshapeshootingshooting techniqueshootout rulesshort handedshot typessidelinesquad rotation systemstoppage timestopperstrikersubstitution rulessummarysweepertacklethe fieldthirds of the fieldthrow instimeoutstop cornertouchlinetournaments listtransfer windowturnovertwo legged tietwo way midfielderuefa champions leagueunited states national teamunsportsmanlike conductvar instant replaywingeryellow cardsporting kansas citystreet soccertop 10 rulesthree lions (football's coming home)top 10 brandstop 5 ranked mens players of all timetop womens playerstoronto fcvancouver whitecapsrules of soccerWhat Is Considered A Foul In Soccer?footballsoccer in america
  1. soccer
  2. new york red bulls

New York Red Bulls

Table of Contents

New York Red Bulls

The New York Red Bulls were established in 1994 as one of the first MLS teams to be created by the league. The ownership group is Red Bull, the creators of the popular energy drink. Distinguished players for the Red Bulls include Bradley Wright-Phillips, Tyler Adams and Aaron Long.

  • Founding Year: 1994
  • City: Harrison, NJ
  • Conference: Eastern
  • Number of MLS Cups: 0
  • Mascot: None
  • Owner: Red Bull
  • Head Coach: Chris Armas
  • Stadium: Red Bull Arena


The New York Red Bulls do not play in New York City. Their stadium and team operations are based in Harrison, NJ and yet have never been called the "New Jersey" Red Bulls. Why is this? MLS when first created wanted in the New York market, but New York City wasn't available.

Not Unusual

What the Red Bulls are doing is not unusual in the American sports ecosystem. Both the Giants and Jets play in East Rutherford, NJ but are "New York," american football teams. Both of these teams used to play in New York City, and thus claim New York. The Red Bulls, originally the Metrostars, played in Giants stadium in New Jersey when founded. This is why the "New York," naming while never being located in New York City was so readily accepted by the media.

New Rivalry

With the addition of New York City Football Club to MLS, the Red Bulls's location has continued to become talking point. With a club located in New York City (NYCFC play in Yankee Stadium in the Bronx, NY) fans are wondering if Red Bulls would ever change the name. At this time, it does not appear if Red Bull, the company who owns the club, has any intention of making a change.


Soccer ArticlesSports Teams