La Liga Teams List

La Liga Teams List

La Liga is a professional soccer league in Spain. It is the top soccer league in the Spanish Football System. Like many professional soccer leagues, the Spanish Football System uses a promotion-relegation system. Thus, the bottom three teams are relegated to the Segunda division each year, and the top three teams from that league come up to La Liga each year. Below is a list of every team that has participated in La Liga over the years, with the 2022 teams in bold.

List of La Liga Teams

  • Albacete
  • Arenas de Getxo
  • Athletic Bilbao
  • Atlético Madrid
  • Atlético Tetuán
  • Burgos CF
  • CA Osasuna
  • Cádiz CF
  • CD Alavés
  • CD Alcoyano
  • CD Castellón
  • CD Condal
  • CD Leganés
  • CD Leonesa
  • CD Logroñés
  • CD Numancia
  • CD Tenerife
  • CE Europa
  • CE Sabadell
  • Celta Vigo
  • CF Extremadura
  • Córdoba CF
  • Deportivo La Coruña
  • Elche CF
  • Espanyol Barcelona
  • FC Barcelona
  • Getafe CF
  • Gimnàstic
  • Girona FC
  • Granada CF
  • Hércules CF
  • Levante UD
  • Lleida Esportiu
  • Málaga CF
  • Mérida AD
  • Pontevedra CF
  • Racing Santander
  • Rayo Vallecano
  • RCD Mallorca
  • Real Betis
  • Real Jaén
  • Real Madrid
  • Real Murcia
  • Real Oviedo
  • Real Sociedad
  • Real Unión
  • Real Valladolid
  • Real Zaragoza
  • Recreativo Huelva
  • SD Compostela
  • SD Eibar
  • SD Huesca
  • Sevilla FC
  • Sporting Gijón
  • UD Almería
  • UD Las Palmas
  • UD Salamanca
  • Valencia CF
  • Villarreal CF
  • Xerez CD


What is the oldest La Liga team?

While they are currently in the Segunda Division, the oldest team to have ever participated in La Liga is Recreativo de Huelva. Recreativo de Huelva were founded in December of 1889, making them the oldest professional soccer team in Spain. Although they are the oldest team in the history of the league, Recreativo de Huelva have yet to take home a La Liga title. Before they can do that, they will have to get promoted back to La Liga.

What team has won the most La Liga titles?

One of the most historic football clubs in the world, the team with the most La Liga titles is Real Madrid. Starting with their first one in 1932, Real Madrid have won 35 La Liga championships, nine more than FC Barcelona’s 26. In addition to those 35 titles, they have finished in second place on 24 occasions. Those 59 top-two finishes are also the most in La Liga history, once again more than FC Barcelona with 53. 

What is the best La Liga team of all time?

When talking about championships and longevity, the best La Liga team of all time is Real Madrid. They have the most championships with 35 and the most top-two finishes with 59. Additionally, they have won multiple championships in every single decade since the 1950s, showing their consistency over the years. FC Barcelona are a close second, however, as their 26 titles and 53 top-two finishes both rank just behind Real Madrid.