HomeMore Sports


Olympic GamesAll SportsArticlesQuestionsCan Pro Boxers Compete In The Olympics?Do NBA Players Play In The Olympics?For The 2020 Summer Olympics Did The Us Mens Soccer Team Qualify?How Do Athletes Qualify To Compete In Judo For The Olympics?How Do You Qualify For Shooting In The Olympics?How Do You Qualify To Compete In Tennis For The Olympics?How Does Olympics Betting Work?How Does Scoring Work In The Olympics?How Many Soccer Teams Are In The Olympics?Is Archery In The Olympics?Is Basketball In The 2020 Olympics?Is Karate In The 2024 Summer Olympics?Is Kerri Walsh Going To The 2020 Olympics?Is Shooting An Olympic Sport?Is The Sport Of Judo In The Olympics?Is There Female Boxing In The Olympics?Is Triathlon An Olympic Sport?What Are The Dimensions Of An Olympic Swimming Pool?What Are The Lanes Used For In Olympic Swimming?What Are The Main Distances In A Olympic Triathlon?What Is An Olympic Triathlon?What Is The Age Limit For Shooting In The Olympics?What New Sports Are In The 2020 Olympics?What Shooting Events Are In The Olympics?What Type Of Boats Are Used In The Olympics?What Type Of Karate Is In The Olympics?What are the rules of olympics?What type of fencing is in the Olympics?When Was Fencing Added To The Summer Olympics?When Was Handball Added To The Olympics?Who Won The 2016 Basketball Olympics?Who Won The 2016 Summer Olympics For Fencing?Who Won The Beach Volleyball Olympics 2016?Who invented the Olympics?Why was Baseball Removed From The Olympics?
  1. Home
  2. Olympic Games
  3. What Shooting Events Are In The Olympics?

What Shooting Events Are In The Olympics?


RIFLE50m Rifle 3 Positions, 10m Air Rifle50m Rifle 3 Positions, 10m Air Rifle 10m Air Rifle
PISTOL25m Rapid Fire Pistol, 10m Air Pistol25m Pistol, 10m Air Pistol 10m Air Pistol
SHOTGUNTrap, SkeetTrap, Skeet Trap

Shooting Events in the Olympics

The Summer Olympics which are held every four years hosts the Olympic Shooting Events. In total there are 15 different shooting events across three different disciplines of guns: rifles, pistols, and shotguns. In total there are 390 athletes that compete in these 15 different events and these events are then split up into Men, Women, and Mixed. The different disciplines of guns also have the same events for each gender, but do differ as far as the Mixed events which doesn't have the skeet event for shotguns, the 50 meter rifle event, and 25 meter pistol event. Each event itself consists of two separate phases, the qualification phase and the final phase/round, in which either the top 6 or 8 shooters depending on event qualify for.

Other Olympic Shooting Facts

  • There have been shooting events since the first modern olympics was held in 1896.
  • At only the 1904 and 1928 Olympics in the US and Netherlands were no shooting events held at all.
  • Over the years there have been many changes and adaptations to shooting in the olympics with team shooting events being eliminated in 1948, women first being allowed to compete in 1968, and most recently going from 17 to 15 shooting events total in the 2008 olympics.
Mixed Shooting Events