More Sportsmodern pentathlonhow to playarticleseventswhat isorigins

Modern Pentathlon

modern pentathlon

The modern pentathlon combines 5 very unique skill sets all into one physically and mentally taxing event. It made its debut at the modern Olympic Games in Sweden in 1912, introduced by Baron de Coubertin. Inspired by a French legend, the event consisted of 5 areas including fencing, swimming, horse riding, pistol shooting, and running. Ever since, the modern pentathlon has been featured in the Summer Olympic Games with a few developments along the way. The most notable is the implementation of the Laser-Run, which combines the running and pistol shooting into one thrilling and deciding event.

Table of Contents


The modern pentathlon is a development of the pentathlon that originated in Ancient Greece. Hence the name, the modern pentathlon consists of 5 separate events all combined into one exciting competition. Today, the modern pentathlon is featured at the Summer Olympic Games every 4 years.

What does modern pentathlon consist of?

The modern pentathlon consists of 5 disciplines which include fencing, swimming, show-jumping, shooting, and running. Today, the shooting and running are combined into one event called the Laser-Run.

When did the modern pentathlon begin?

The modern pentathlon debuted at the 1912 Summer Olympic Games in Stockholm, Sweden. It has since seen some modifications but has stayed true to the 5 disciplines.

Who invented the modern pentathlon?

The modern pentathlon was introduced by a renowned Frenchman, Baron de Coubertin in 1912. He believed that mastery of this sport would create a complete athlete.

To attempt to complete the modern pentathlon, you must develop a unique skill set of the 5 different disciplines that make up the sport. This will take great practice, especially in the fencing, horse-riding, and shooting events.