Kickball League

Kickball has been played on playgrounds and parks alike since its invention in 1917. However, it wasn't until 2006 that we saw the birth of the first kickball league. The first official Kickball league was the Atlantic League of the WAKA (World Adult Kickball Association). In its debut season, the league consisted of 86 players spread across four different teams. The four teams included the Bad News Barristers, Picked Last in Gym Glass, Foul Balls, and BAMF Ballers. In that season, the Foul Balls were crowned the tournament champions. Thirteen years into its existence, the league has grown so much that it reaches a maximum occupancy of 16 teams with over 350 members every season. These teams are generally co-ed with players being 21 and older.

Local Leagues

Not all leagues are played in such a professional manner, however. Some leagues are put together by companies, community centers, or church groups. There are even youth kickball leagues available for younger audiences. Most leagues use the WAKA's list of official rules to model their leagues after. The benefit of unofficial leagues is the game can be modified to fit your liking. If you are an older individual, there are senior leagues available so that you can still play the game that you love without destroying your body with the rigorous activity of some of the professional leagues. Whatever you are looking for in a league is only a google search away. WAKA has inspired the creation of leagues all across the map in different shapes and forms. The hard part is not actually playing the game of kickball, but finding which league suits you best.

Waka League

A WAKA kickball season is usually made up of eight regular season games. After the regular season, WAKA hosts the most competitive kickball tournament in the world: Founders Cup for the most qualified teams in various WAKA Leagues. Taking place in Las Vegas, Nevada, the event invites over 3000 players from 30 states to compete for the right to be crowned Champion. In the tournament, each team is granted a minimum of four pool games. Teams that place in the top four will receive a prize package of $15,000, including $10,000 for the first place winner. Season after season new teams form in a hunt for this generous cash prize.