Kickball Overthrows

Chapter 8.9

What happens when a fielder throws the kickball into foul territory? Or when a pitcher throws the kickball way outside the strike zone? How many bases is a baserunner allowed to advance? Get ready to learn about the rules of overthrows and wild pitches in kickball.

Introduction

As a fielder, sometimes you'll make a mistake. It happens very rarely at the professional level, but humans aren't perfect. Errors do happen and when they do, they can affect the outcome of a game.

There are two (2) types of throwing errors we will cover:

  1. Overthrows
  2. Wild Pitches

In this tutorial, we will learn about throwing errors, when they happen, how to prevent them as a fielder, and the rules that define them in kickball.

Overthrows

Fielders do not always make perfect throws. Sometimes, they will attempt to throw the kickball to another fielder, but accidentally throw it too far, causing the kickball to go into the dugout, stands, or another territory that is out of play (NOT including foul territory).

When this happens, the kicker-runner and any runners on base are allowed to advance two (2) bases.

Wild Pitch

While wild pitches are not technically considered overthrows, they occur when a pitcher throws a kickball that is so far from the strike zone that the catcher is unable to catch it. We will learn more about wild pitchers in Chapter 9: Kickball Wild Pitches.

Search Results