Kickball Ground Rule Doubles

Chapter 6.7

What is a ground rule double? When do they happen? Get ready to learn about ground rule doubles in kickball.

Introduction

We've already learned about the kicker and what it means to be at-bat. A goal of the kicker is to get on-base by kicking pitches thrown by the pitcher. Sometimes, the kickball is hit into an object like a bush or into the stands. Is that allowed in kickball?

In this tutorial, we will learn about ground rule doubles in kickball, what they are, and how they impact a kickball game.

Ground Rule Doubles

What happens if a kickball lands in fair territory, but bounces out of the reach of fielders? Such instances happen if a kickball lands in the far edge of the outfield, then bounces into the stands. Some fields have an outfield fence, and kickballs sometimes get lodged into the plants. Such hits are not considered home runs (which we will learn about later in this chapter), because they did not initially land beyond the outfield fence. Instead, they are ground rule doubles.

Rookie Road Kickball Ground Rule Double Image

When a kicker hits a ground rule double, he is automatically entitled to second base. All runners already on base get to advance two (2) bases as well.

Search Results