HomeMore Sports


Olympic GamesAll SportsArticlesQuestionsCan Pro Boxers Compete In The Olympics?Do NBA Players Play In The Olympics?For The 2020 Summer Olympics Did The Us Mens Soccer Team Qualify?How Do Athletes Qualify To Compete In Judo For The Olympics?How Do You Qualify For Shooting In The Olympics?How Do You Qualify To Compete In Tennis For The Olympics?How Does Olympics Betting Work?How Does Scoring Work In The Olympics?How Many Soccer Teams Are In The Olympics?Is Archery In The Olympics?Is Basketball In The 2020 Olympics?Is Karate In The 2024 Summer Olympics?Is Kerri Walsh Going To The 2020 Olympics?Is Shooting An Olympic Sport?Is The Sport Of Judo In The Olympics?Is There Female Boxing In The Olympics?Is Triathlon An Olympic Sport?What Are The Dimensions Of An Olympic Swimming Pool?What Are The Lanes Used For In Olympic Swimming?What Are The Main Distances In A Olympic Triathlon?What Is An Olympic Triathlon?What Is The Age Limit For Shooting In The Olympics?What New Sports Are In The 2020 Olympics?What Shooting Events Are In The Olympics?What Type Of Boats Are Used In The Olympics?What Type Of Karate Is In The Olympics?What are the rules of olympics?What type of fencing is in the Olympics?When Was Fencing Added To The Summer Olympics?When Was Handball Added To The Olympics?Who Won The 2016 Basketball Olympics?Who Won The 2016 Summer Olympics For Fencing?Who Won The Beach Volleyball Olympics 2016?Who invented the Olympics?Why was Baseball Removed From The Olympics?
  1. Home
  2. Olympic Games
  3. What Type Of Karate Is In The Olympics?

What Type Of Karate Is In The Olympics?

Kata Karate

There will be two types of karate in the 2020 Olympics: kata and kumite.

Kata is a demonstration of forms with a sequence of offensive and defensive movements. In this form of karate, athletes do not fight against one another, but against a virtual opponent. There are 102 recognized katas from the World Karate Federation, and competitors have to choose from that bunch. A scoring system was developed where the scores given by three of the seven judges are added then applied to a calculation formula to figure out the winner.

Kumite is sparring. This is where two opponents fight one another in an 8x8 matted competition area. The objective of kumite is to outscore your opponent using powerful and precise attacks to the head and body. Athletes win by scoring eight more points than their opponent before time runs out, or score more points than them in the given time.