What Is The Stanley Cup In Hockey?

Ice Hockey Stanley Cup

The hockey Stanley Cup is a trophy awarded to the winner of the National Hockey League’s (NHL) Playoffs. 

This championship is held annually as the final grand tournament of the NHL season. The NHL teams that qualify for the playoffs participate in an elimination-style tournament, leading to the chance of winning the Stanley Cup. The winning team receives the title of Stanley Cup Champion along with ownership of the trophy for the year.

Eight teams from each conference make the playoffs based on their season performance. The tournament then goes in order of elimination; first round, second round, conference finals, and the Stanley Cup Final.


The Stanley Cup is named after Lord Stanley of Preston, the sixth Governor-General of Canada, who donated the trophy in 1893 to be given to the top hockey team in Canada. The first Stanley Cup was awarded in 1893 to the Montreal Hockey Club and has been the greatest award and symbol in hockey ever since. After the formation of the NHL in 1917, the Stanley Cup was awarded to the winner of a game between the two teams who won the NHL and Pacific Coast Hockey Association (PCHA), the other major professional league at the time. After the 1926 season, the PCHA became a minor league, and the Stanley Cup was awarded to the top NHL team each season. Since 1926, the Stanley Cup has remained the trophy given to the top NHL team.


What is the Stanley Cup in hockey?

The Stanley Cup is given to the team that wins the Stanley Cup Playoffs. The Stanley Cup in hockey is the greatest trophy of achievement in the NHL. This championship is won through an elimination-style tournament for the top 16 NHL teams from the regular season.

Who won the Stanley Cup in 2019?

In 2019, the St. Louis Blues won the Stanley Cup for the first time in franchise history. The Blues won 4-1 against the Boston Bruins in game seven of the Stanley Cup Finals. The 2019 Stanley Cup Final game seven was played at the TD Garden in Massachusetts, the home of the Boston Bruins. Through this final win, the Blues got to bring back the Stanley Cup to St. Louis for the first time in history.

What teams have never won the Stanley Cup?

The teams who have never won the Stanley Cup in the history of the NHL are:

  • Arizona Coyotes
  • Vancouver Canucks
  • Buffalo Sabres
  • Florida Panthers
  • Nashville Predators
  • Ottawa Senators
  • San Jose Sharks
  • Columbus Blue Jackets
  • Minnesota Wild
  • Vegas Golden Knights
  • Seattle Kraken
  • Winnipeg Jets 

Why is the Stanley Cup called the Stanley Cup?

The Stanley Cup is called the Stanley Cup because it is named after Canada’s sixth Governor-General, Lord Stanley of Preston. In 1892, Lord Stanley bought the silver cup that is now the Stanley Cup and donated it to be used as a trophy for the best hockey team in the world.1 From his donation, the trophy was named after him, and the name stuck with it. In 1926, the NHL made the Stanley Cup its trophy for the NHL Playoffs, and it has been awarded to the best team in the world annually since then.