A double-minor penalty calls for the offending player to serve four minutes in the penalty box. The team that committed the penalty will be short-handed for four minutes, meaning they will be down a skater on the ice for 5-on-4. The other team will be on a power play. If a team scores a goal during a double minor penalty, one of the minor penalties will be removed, but the offender will still have to serve the remaining two minutes on the clock from the first minor penalty.
Remember, a double minor penalty is just two minor penalties combined into one. Each minor penalty is worth two minutes of time in the penalty box for a player. If a goal is scored, there is still one more minor penalty left to serve.
Here is a list of double-minor penalties in ice hockey with examples:
If a goal is made on a power play while a double-minor penalty is being served, one of the minor penalties will immediately expire. However, the other minor penalty will remain in effect with two minutes on the penalty clock. The offending team will return to full-strength once the penalty expires.
If a double-minor penalty is called on a player and there are already two other players on his team serving penalties, the penalty clock will not start ticking until at least one of the other penalties has expired. However, a substitute can take his place on the ice.
Remember, a team cannot have fewer than four players on the ice (one goalie and three skaters).
Sometimes calling penalties can be more complicated when multiple players on both teams are called for penalties at the same time.
In this case, the Referees will determine the on-ice strength of both teams by canceling out as many minor penalties, bench minor penalties, double-minor penalties, major penalties, and match penalties as possible.