Vancouver Canucks


The Vancouver Canucks are a professional hockey team in the National Hockey League (NHL). Based in Vancouver, the team currently competes in the Pacific Division of the NHL's Western Conference.


The Vancouver Canucks were established in 1970 in Vancouver, British Columbia (located in Canada). The team has kept the same name since its inception, which is derived from a famous Canadian cartoon character that made several comic appearances during the World War II time period.

Quick Facts

  • Founding Year: 1970
  • Current City: Vancouver, BC
  • Arena: Rogers Arena
  • Conference: Western
  • Division: Pacific
  • Mascot: Fin the Whale
  • Owner: Francesco Aquilini
  • Head Coach: Travis Green


The Canucks are among the 11 NHL teams that have not won a Stanley Cup in franchise history. While the team has made three appearances in the championship round since becoming a member of the league, it has yet to earn the ultimate prize. Since the start of the 21st century, the Canucks have achieved mixed results, either reaching the later rounds of the playoffs or failing to qualify for postseason contention altogether most years.

In the most recent 2018-2019 NHL season, the Canucks played to a record of 35-36 (35 wins, 36 losses), failing to secure a playoff spot.

Notable Canucks Players

Listed below are some of the best players in Canucks history from a statistical perspective (i.e. goals scored, shots blocked, assists). Both current and former players are included in the list, along with their primary positions and number of years spent in the league.


  • Markus Nasland (Left Wing, 1990-2010)
  • Stan Smyl (Right Wing, 1978-1991)
  • Thomas Gradin (Center, 1972-1990)
  • Henrik Sedin (Center, 1997-2018)
  • Daniel Sedin (Left Wing, 1997-2018)


  • Roberto Luongo (Goaltender, 1998-Present)
  • Elias Pettersson (2015-Present)

* Indicates that the player is a member of the Hockey Hall of Fame

Related Pages