Toronto Maple Leafs

Toronto Maple Leafs

The Toronto Maple Leafs were created in 1917 and first went by the name of the Arenas. In 1919, they changed their team name to the St. Pats. Finally, in 1927, the team name was officially changed to the Maple Leafs (Leafs for short).

Founding Date: 1917

City: Toronto, Ontario

Conference: Eastern

Number of Stanley Cups: 13 (Most recent: 1967)

Mascot: Carlton the Bear

Owner: Maple Leaf Sports and Entertainment

Head Coach: Mike Babcock

Stadium: Scotiabank Arena


The Toronto Maple Leafs are one of the most popular and recognizable teams in all of hockey. They are an "Original Six" franchise and were established in 1917. The Maple Leafs or "Leafs" as they are called on some occasions have had many great players in their franchise history including Mats Sundin, Doug Gilmore, and current stars Auston Matthews and John Tavares. The Maple Leafs have been a somewhat successful franchise but have not won a Stanley Cup Championship since 1967. However, they have won 13 in total and were very successful before 1967. The Maple Leafs originally went by the Toronto Arenas until 1919 when they changed their name to the Toronto St. Pats. They were the St. Pats until 1927 when they became the Maple Leafs.

Recent History

The Maple Leafs have been a competitive franchise as of late but have struggled to make it out of the first round of the playoffs. The past three seasons the Maple Leafs have been eliminated in the first round once by the Washington Capitals and twice by the Boston Bruins. Many blame this on the NHL's new playoff format in the past two seasons the prospective #2 and #3 seeds have played in the first round of the playoffs instead of the traditional one versus eight, 2 versus seven, etc. The Maple Leafs are a young, talented team that has plenty to look forward to in the future as they hope to get out of the first round of the playoffs and eventually to the Stanley Cup Final.

Related Pages