Pittsburgh Penguins


The Pittsburgh Penguins are a professional hockey team in the National Hockey League (NHL). Based in Pittsburgh, the team currently competes in the Metropolitan Division of the NHL's Eastern Conference.


The Pittsburgh Penguins were established in 1967 in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. The team has kept the same name since its inception, which is derived from the "Big Igloo" nickname that many fans used to refer to the team's home arena at the time.

Quick Facts

  • Founding Year: 1967
  • Current City: Pittsburgh, PA
  • Arena: PPG Paints Arena
  • Conference: Eastern
  • Division: Metropolitan
  • Mascot: "Iceburgh"
  • Owners: Ronald Burkle & Mario Lemieux
  • Head Coach: Mike Sullivan


The Blackhawks have won five Stanley Cups in franchise history. The first championship victory was achieved in the 1990-1991 season, with the most recent occurring in the 2016-2017 season. Since the start of the 21st century, the Penguins have been one of the better teams in the NHL, finishing in the top half of the standings most years and winning three Stanley Cups during that span.

In the most recent 2018-2019 NHL season, the Blackhawks played to a record of 44-26, securing a playoff spot for the 13th consecutive year.

Notable Penguins Players

Listed below are some of the best players in Penguins history from a statistical perspective (i.e. goals scored, shots blocked, assists). Both current and former players are included in the list, along with their primary positions and number of years spent in the league.


  • Rick Kehoe (Right Wing, 1969-1985)
  • Ron Francis (1981-2004)*
  • Tom Barrasso (Goaltender, 1983-2003
  • Mario Lemieux (Center, 1984-2006)*


  • Sidney Crosby (Center, 2005-Present)

* Indicates that the player is a member of the Hockey Hall of Fame

Related Pages