Nashville Predators

Nashville Predators

The Nashville Predators were joined the NHL in 1998 as an expansion team in the Western Conference. Since the franchise is newer than most, they have only ever had two head coaches: Barry Trotz (1998-2014) and Peter Laviolette (2014-Present). Though the team got off to a slow start in their early years, they have since become a consistent force in the postseason. The team has made it to the Stanley Cup Finals only once and have never won the title. A few famous players to suit up for the team include Mike Fisher, David Legwand, Shea Weber and Pekka Rinne.

Here is some basic information about the team:

Founding Year: 1998

City: Nashville, TN

Conference: Western

Division: Central

Number of Stanley Cups: 0

Mascot: Gnash

Owner: Predators Holdings LLC

Head Coach: Peter Laviolette

Stadium: Bridgestone Arena

History of the Nashville Predators

The Predators finished each of their first five seasons with a losing record, finishing near the bottom of their division each year. In the 2003-04 season this turned around, as they posted a .555 record and made it to the playoffs for the first time in their history, ultimately losing in the quarter-finals. This continued for the next 3 seasons, a huge improvement from the losing records in their first 5. The team wouldn't make it to the second round of the playoffs until the 2010-11 season, though that was as far as they went.

From 2012 to 2014, the team missed the playoffs again, despite posting a winning record in the 2013-14 season. With the addition of P.K. Subban in the 2016-17 season, they went on to their first Stanley Cup final, eventually losing to the Pittsburgh Penguins. In the last two NHL seasons, Nashville has come in first in the Central Division, but lost in the early rounds of the playoffs on both occasions.

Predators All-Time Leaders

Here are some of the Predators all-time leaders for various categories:

Related Pages