Edmonton oilers

Edmonton Oilers

The Edmonton Oilers are an NHL team playing in the Pacific Division of the Western Conference. The Oilers were created in 1971 and were part of the World Hockey Association (WHA) before joining the NHL in 1979.

Notable Players

Some of the best players to have suited up for the Oilers include Wayne Gretzky, Connor McDavid and Mark Messier. Wayne Gretzky is thought of as the all-time best hockey player. Connor McDavid is thought of as the best hockey player in the world right now. McDavid could compete for Gretzky's legacy as the best hockey player of all-time.

4 Cups in 5 Years

Led by superstar Wayne Gretzky, the Edmonton Oilers won the Stanley Cup in 1984, 1985, 1987, and 1988. Gretzky won the Conn Smythe award for playoff MVP in 1985 and 1988. In 1984, Mark Messier won the Conn Smythe.

The Oilers would also go on to win their 5th and final Stanley Cup in 1990, without the help of Wayne Gretzky who left Edmonton after 1988.

Front Office

The Oilers are owned by the Oilers Entertainment Group. Daryl Katz, a Canadian businessman, owns the biggest stake of the Oilers. The team is currently coached by Dave Tippet, and the current general manager is Ken Holland. Peter Chiralli spent a few years as GM of the Oilers, and made horrible decisions such as trading away former #1 overall pick Taylor Hall. Chiarelli's effect is still felt by the Oilers, who struggle to compete despite having two of the best players in McDavid and Draisaitl.

Stadium & Mascot

The Oilers play in Rogers Place in Edmonton, Alberta. Their mascot is Hunter the Canadian Lynx.

Battle of Alberta

Edmonton is located in the province of Alberta. The Calgary Flames are also in Alberta. This has led to a bitter rivalry between the two Canadian teams. In any given season, the battle of Alberta refers to the games played between Calgary and Edmonton. Both teams are fast and young, so the rivalry makes for an exciting matchup.

Founding Date: 1971

City: Edmonton, Alberta

Conference: Western

Number of Stanley Cups: 5 (Most recent: 1990)

Mascot: Hunter the Canadian Lynx

Owner: Oilers Entertainment Group

Head Coach: Dave Tippet

Stadium: Rogers Place

Search Results