Dallas stars

Dallas Stars

The Dallas Stars were founded in 1967 in Bloomington, Minnesota and were known as the Minnesota North Stars. They were incorporated into the NHL as a part of a six-team expansion. In 1993, the franchise relocated itself to where it is presently in Dallas Texas. The Stars are a member of the western conference and central division. The team plays its home games in Dallas at American Airlines Arena.

The team is owned by Thomas Gaglardi, a business executive from Canada. Some members of the team's staff are head coach Jim Montgomery, general manager Jim Nill, and assistant coach John Stevens. The mascot for the Stars is Victor E. Green, a green alien-like creature.

The Stars don a green and white colored jersey with their logo embroidered on the front. The logo is simple, a D for Dallas with a star inside of it, to represent the team's name.

Dallas Stars Team History

Since joining The NHL in 1967 The Dallas Stars have been a force to be reckoned with in The NHL.From 1993 to 2007 the Stars went on a torrid run, only missing the playoffs twice. They also captured their franchise's only Stanley Cup Trophy in that span (1999). After 2007, the team came back to earth and missed the playoffs several times. They are currently built around star forward duo Jamie Benn and Tyler Seguin. This current nucleus of players is a playoff team that hopes to compete for The Stanley Cup.

Move From Minnesota

The most notable event in the franchise's history came in 1993 when the team famously moved from Minnesota to Dallas. Minnesota is a hockey crazed state, so the move came as a surprise to just about everyone. It took a while to adjust, but Minnesota eventually got another team (The Wild) and the city of Dallas embraced the Stars.

Dallas Stars Notable Players

Some famous players to have suited for the team include current superstar forwards Jamie Benn and Tyler Seguin, franchise point leader Mike Modano, and defensemen Sergei Zubov.

Related Pages