Colorado Avalanche


The Colorado Avalanche are a professional hockey team in the National Hockey League (NHL). Based in Denver, the team currently competes in the Central Division of the NHL's Western Conference.


The Colorado Avalanche were established in 1972 in Quebec City, Quebec (located in Canada). The team played 22 full seasons as the Quebec Nordiques before relocating to Denver, Colorado and changing its name prior to the start of the 1995 season.

Quick Facts

  • Founding Year: 1972
  • Current City: Denver, CO
  • Arena: Pepsi Center
  • Conference: Western
  • Division: Central
  • Mascot: Bernie the St. Bernard
  • Owner: Ann Walton Kroenke
  • Head Coach: Jared Bednar


The Avalanche have won two Stanley Cups in franchise history. The first championship victory was achieved in the team's inaugural 1995-1996 season in Denver, with the second coming shortly thereafter during the 2000-2001 season. Since the start of the 21st century, the Avalanche have remained mostly competitive, with the exception of a rough stretch that saw the team miss the playoffs for three consecutive seasons between 2010-2013.

In the most recent 2018-2019 NHL season, the Avalanche played to a record of 38-30 (38 wins, 30 losses), just barely securing a playoff spot in the Western Conference. The team advanced past the first round after defeating the Calgary Flames four games to one, before ultimately being eliminated by the San Jose Sharks in the second round.

Notable Avalanche Players

Listed below are some of the best players in Avalanche history from a statistical perspective (i.e. goals scored, shots blocked, assists). Both current and former players are included in the list, along with their primary positions and number of years spent in the league.


  • Ray Borque (Defenseman, 1979-2001)*
  • Patrick Roy (Goaltender, 1984-2003)*
  • Joe Sakic (Center, 1998-2009)*
  • Peter Forsberg (Center, 1989-2011)*
  • Adam Foote (Defenseman, 1992-2011)
  • Milan Hejduk (Right Wing, 1998-2013)


  • Gabriel Landeskog (Left Wing, 2011-Present)
  • Nathan MacKinnon (Center, 2013-Present)

* Indicates that the player is a member of the Hockey Hall of Fame

Related Pages