Chicago Blackhawks


The Chicago Blackhawks are a professional hockey team in the National Hockey League (NHL). Based in Chicago, the team currently competes in the Central Division of the NHL's Western Conference.


The Chicago Blackhawks were established in 1967 in Chicago, Illinois. The team has kept the same name since its inception, which is derived from the "Black Hawk Division" for which former owner Federic McLaughlin served during the first World War.

Quick Facts

  • Founding Year: 1926
  • Current City: Chicago, Illinois
  • Arena: United Center
  • Conference: Western
  • Division: Central
  • Mascot: Tommy Hawk
  • Owner: Rocky Wirtz
  • Head Coach: Jeremy Colliton


The Blackhawks have won six Stanley Cups in franchise history. The first championship victory was achieved in the 1933-1934 season, with the most recent occurring in the 2014-2015 season. Since the start of the 21st century, the Blackhawks have been one of the better teams in the NHL, finishing in the top half of the standings most years and winning three Stanley Cups during that span.

In the most recent 2018-2019 NHL season, the Blackhawks played to a record of 36-34 (36 wins, 34 losses), failing to secure a playoff spot for the second consecutive year after making the postseason in each of the previous nine seasons.

Notable Blackhawks Players

Listed below are some of the best players in Blackhawks history from a statistical perspective (i.e. goals scored, shots blocked, assists). Both current and former players are included in the list, along with their primary positions and number of years spent in the league.


  • Tony Esposito (Goaltender, 1967-1984)*
  • Denis Savard (Center, 1980-1997)*
  • Chris Chelios (Defenseman, 1984-2010)*


* Indicates that the player is a member of the Hockey Hall of Fame

Related Pages