Calgary Flames


The Calgary Flames are a professional hockey team in the National Hockey League (NHL). Based in Calgary, the team currently competes in the Pacific Division of the NHL's Western Conference.


The Calgary Flames were established in 1972 in Atlanta, Georgia. The team played seven full seasons as the Atlanta Flames before relocating to Calgary, Alberta (located in Canada)prior to the start of the 1995 season.

  • Founding Year: 1972
  • Current City: Calgary, AB
  • Arena: Scotiabank Saddledome
  • Conference: Western
  • Division: Pacific
  • Mascot: Harvey the Hound
  • Owner: Norman Murray Edwards
  • Head Coach: Bill Peters


The Flames have won one Stanley Cup in franchise history. The team's first and only championship victory to date was achieved in the 1988-1989 season. Since the start of the 21st century, the Flames have remained mostly competitive, with the exception of a rough stretch in the early 2000's that marked the tail end of a seven-year streak without a playoff appearance.

In the most recent 2018-2019 NHL season, the Avalanche played to a record of 50-25 (50 wins, 25 losses), securing a playoff spot en route to finishing at the very top of the Western Conference standings. The team failed to advance past the first round, losing four games to one to the lower-ranked Colorado Avalanche.

Notable Flames Players

Listed below are some of the best players in Flames history from a statistical perspective (i.e. goals scored, shots blocked, assists). Both current and former players are included in the list, along with their primary positions and number of years spent in the league.


  • Theoren Fleury (Right Wing, 1988-2006)
  • Miikka Kiprusoff (Goaltender, 1994-2013)
  • Jarome Iginla (Right Wing, 1996-2017)


* Indicates that the player is a member of the Hockey Hall of Fame

Related Pages