Arizona Coyotes


The Arizona Coyotes are a professional hockey team in the National Hockey League (NHL). Based in Glendale, the team currently competes in the Pacific Division of the NHL's Western Conference.


The Arizona Coyotes were established in 1972 in Winnipeg, Manitoba (located in Canada). The team played 23 full seasons as the Winnipeg Jets before relocating to Glendale, Arizona and changing its name prior to the start of the 1996 season.

Quick Facts

  • Founding Year: 1972
  • Current City: Glendale, AZ
  • Arena: Gila River Arena
  • Conference: Western
  • Division: Pacific
  • Mascot: Howler the Coyote
  • Owner: Alex Meruelo
  • Head Coach: Rick Tocchet


The Coyotes are among the 11 NHL teams that have not won a Stanley Cup in franchise history. While the team has made several playoff appearances since becoming a member of the league, it has yet to log an appearance in the championship round. Since the start of the 21st century, the Coyotes have struggled to remain competitive, finishing at the bottom of the standings most years.

In the most recent 2018-2019 NHL season, the Coyotes played to a record of 39-35 (39 wins, 35 losses), failing to secure a playoff spot by a relatively small margin.

Notable Coyotes Players

Listed below are some of the best players in Coyotes history from a statistical perspective (i.e. goals scored, shots blocked, assists). Both current and former players are included in the list, along with their primary positions and number of years spent in the league.


  • Keith Tkachuk (Left Wing, 1991-2010)
  • Nikolai Khabibulin (Goaltender, 1994-2014)
  • Radim Vrbata (Right Wing, 2001-2018)
  • Antoine Vermette (Center, 2002-2018)


  • Oliver Ekman-Larsson (Defenseman, 2007-Present)
  • Derek Stepan (Center, 2010-Present)

* Indicates that the player is a member of the Hockey Hall of Fame

Search Results