The conn smythe trophy

Conn Smythe Trophy

The Conn Smythe Trophy, awarded annually to the player voted by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association to have been the most valuable to his team during that year's NHL Stanley Cup playoffs, was first introduced in 1964 by Maple Leafs Sports & Entertainment to honor Conn Smythe, the former owner, general manager and coach of the Toronto Maple Leafs.

Since its inception, attaining the honor and the prestige of this trophy has become the dream of millions of young aspiring hockey players throughout North America, and the case still remains so today. If you're one of these ambitious athletes, however, don't feel intimidated or discouraged by the competition. After all, each and every one of these Stanley Cup MVPs had once been in the same position as where you are right now everyone has to get their professional careers started somewhere. It may come as a surprise to learn, however, that for many of these hockey superstars, this place was college.

Related Pages