In this tutorial, we'll learn what a disallowed goal is in ice hockey.
- A puck that is batted, kicked, or thrown into net without the use of a hockey stick
- The puck deflects off of an official
- An ineligible player was on ice during play
- Goaltender interference took place in the goal crease
- The puck was hit off a stick held above the crossbar
- A double-minor for high-sticking was called on a player
- A major or match penalty was called on a player
- The goal cage was displaced on the ice
- A delayed penalty was called on a player
- Play was stopped by a referee
- If a goal was scored in the other team's net prior, viewable by instant replay
Below describes these situations in more detail:
Batted, Kicked Or Thrown Puck
Deflected Off A Referee
Too Many Players On The Ice
A player is not allowed to interfere with the goalie's ability to do his job on the ice. If a player is found to have interfered with the goalie while the goal is score it will be disallowed. An example of goaltender interference is if a player skates into the goalie bringing both players out of position.
Puck Hit Off A Stick Above The Crossbar
Players are not allowed to hold their hockey sticks above the height of the crossbar. If the puck makes contact with a stick and it goes into net, a referee will check that the stick was not above the height of the crossbar. Where puck makes contact with stick is the determining factor for referees.
Displaced Goal Cage
If the net becomes displaced during play, the goal will be disallowed. Both pegs that hold the goal cage in place must remain stationary to the ice. Often during goaltender interference, the goal cage will become displaced as a player will skate into the goalie causing a collision.
We'll learn about ice hockey penalties in future chapters.
Delayed Penalty Call
A delayed penalty in ice hockey is one where a referee will signal a penalty has occurred, but not stop play until the opposing team regains possession of the puck. If a goal is scored on a delayed penalty, it will be disallowed.
PRO TIP: If a goal is scored by the non-offending team during a delayed penalty, the goal will count. An example of this would be if the puck is deflected off a player who was called for the penalty and then goes into the net.
We'll learn more about delayed penalties in future chapters.
Goalie Pushed Into The Net
Referee Stops Play
If instant replay reveals something strange on the play prior to a goal being scored it will be disallowed. For example, if the puck happened to cross the goal line of the opposing team's goal cage for a score. Believe it or not this has happened before!