What Is The PGA Championship in Golf?

What Is The PGA Championship in Golf

The PGA Championship is one of golf’s four annual major championships. It is the second major on the major championship schedule, typically taking place the weekend before Memorial Day. Read on to learn more about the PGA Championship, including basic information, history, and the format.

  • Location: Pittsford, New York (changes yearly)
  • Course: Oak Hill Country Club (changes yearly)
  • First Tournament: 1916
  • Par: 70
  • Length: 7,360 yards (6,730 m)
  • Tour: PGA Tour
  • Format: Stroke play
  • Prize Fund: $15 million
  • Most Wins: Jack Nicklaus, Walter Hagen (5 wins)


The first PGA Championship was held in 1916 at Siwanoy Country Club in Bronxville, New York. This was just half a year after the Professional Golfers Association of America (PGA) was formally founded in New York City, New York. The winner of the first PGA Championship was English legend Jim Barnes, and he received a prize of $500 and a diamond-studded gold medal.


The PGA Championship follows a standard 72-hole stroke play format held over four days. This means that golfers play 18 holes a day. According to standard golf rules, players are given a score based on how many strokes they complete each hole in relation to the hole’s given par. After the first 36 holes (Thursday and Friday), only the top 70 players (and ties) are allowed to continue competing for the last 36 holes (Saturday and Sunday). The golfer with the lowest total score after all 72 holes is declared the PGA Champion.


There are a maximum of 156 players in the PGA Championship field. To be invited to play in the tournament, players must meet at least one of the following criteria:

  • PGA Championship winners
  • Winners of any major championship in the last five years
  • Winners of the last three The Players Championships
  • Current PGA Senior Champion
  • 15 lowest scorers and ties from the previous PGA Championship
  • 20 lowest scorers from PGA Professional Championship
  • 70 leaders in official money standings on PGA Tour
  • Members of the most recent Ryder Cup teams that are ranked within the top 100 of the OWGR
  • Any tournament winner in the last year on the PGA Tour
  • PGA of America-invited players

Vacancies are filled by inviting those below the top 70 in official money standings on the PGA Tour, known as alternates. These alternates are awarded spots based on their ranking, with the player in 71st getting first priority.


What is the PGA Championship?

The PGA Championship is an annual golf tournament and is one of golf’s four major championships. It is played at a different location in the United States every year. The PGA Championship is typically held the weekend before Memorial Day.

Where is the PGA Championship held?

The PGA Championship is held at a different location each year. It was first held at the Siwanoy Country Club in Bronxville, New York and has graced many venues since then. The 2023 PGA Championship will be held at Oak Hill Country Club in Pittsford, New York. The 2024 PGA Championship will be held at Valhalla Golf Club in Louisville, Kentucky.