Which NFL Teams Have Never Won A Super Bowl?

Which NFL Teams Have Never Won A Super Bowl

As of 2022, 12 total NFL teams have not won a Super Bowl. Eight of those franchises have been to the Super Bowl while the other four have never made an appearance. Plus, five of the 12 teams that have never won a Super Bowl have lost in the big game multiple times.

Which NFL Teams have never won a Super Bowl before?

  • Minnesota Vikings
  • Buffalo Bills
  • Cincinnati Bengals
  • Atlanta Falcons
  • Carolina Panthers
  • Arizona Cardinals
  • Tennessee Titans
  • Los Angeles Chargers
  • Cleveland Browns
  • Detroit Lions

Minnesota Vikings

The Vikings have made the Super Bowl four times but have yet to grab the coveted title. Each of their Super Bowl appearances came in the 1970s, where the squad lost to the Chiefs in 1970, the Dolphins in 1974, the Steelers in 1975, and the Raiders in 1977. Minnesota most recently was a game away from the Super Bowl in 2018, where the team suffered a 38-7 loss to the Eagles.

Buffalo Bills

The Buffalo Bills made the Super Bowl in four consecutive years from 1990 to 1993 and lost all four times. The first was a 20-19 loss to the Giants, then came a 37-24 loss to Washington, and then back-to-back Super Bowl losses to the Cowboys. The Bills have not been back to the Super Bowl since then, but made it to the AFC Championship game in 2020 only to run into the Chiefs and suffer a defeat.

Cincinnati Bengals

The Bengals have made it to the Super Bowl three times and are still looking to hoist a Lombardi Trophy. Cincinnati made it to the big game twice in the 1980s, in 1981 and in 1988, only to lose to the 49ers both times. The Bengals also made a run to the Super Bowl in 2022, but fell to the Rams 23-20.

Atlanta Falcons

The Falcons have made it to the Super Bowl twice, each individual appearance 18 years apart, and have not come away with a victory. The first appearance was in 1999 where the Broncos blew the Falcons out with a 34-19 win. The next time Atlanta was in the big game was in 2017, where the Patriots won 34-28 in overtime. The Falcons had a 28-3 lead in the third quarter before New England had a historic comeback.

Carolina Panthers

The Panthers made the Super Bowl twice in their franchise history, only to lose both times. The first came in 2003 where the Panthers lost to the Patriots 32-29 on an Adam Vinatieri field goal as time expired. The second loss was in 2015, where the Broncos put on a stellar defensive performance and won 24-10.

Arizona Cardinals

The Cardinals came close to raising a Lombardi Trophy in their singular Super Bowl appearance in 2009, but fell to the Steelers 27-23. Arizona has had multiple playoff appearances since then, even making it to the NFC Championship in 2015, but is still looking for its first Super Bowl win. 

Tennessee Titans

In the first year that the squad was called the “Tennessee Titans,” the team made it to the Super Bowl in 1999 but fell to the Rams 23-16. A last second Kevin Dyson dive to the end zone to tie the game came up short, and the Titans were left without a Super Bowl victory. Tennessee has made it to the playoffs nine times since then, and had two conference championship appearances, but still has not been back to the Super Bowl. 

Los Angeles Chargers

The Chargers never made a Super Bowl with their franchise leading passer, Philip Rivers, but made the big game in 1995. Behind quarterback Stan Humphries, the Chargers went head-to-head with the 49ers in the Super Bowl only to get blown out 49-26. Los Angeles has only made the AFC Conference Championship game once since that Super Bowl appearance.

Cleveland Browns

Since the Super Bowl was founded in 1967, the Browns have yet to make an appearance in the big game. Cleveland had five conference championship appearances before the 1990 season, but since 1990, they have only made the playoffs three times. In fact, the Browns had a 17-year playoff drought from 2003-2019.

Detroit Lions

The Lions have yet to make it to the Super Bowl and do not carry much playoff success. Detroit has only made it to the playoffs 13 times, with one conference championship appearance in the 1991 season. Since 1992, the Lions have yet to win a playoff game in eight chances.

Jacksonville Jaguars

While the Jaguars have made three conference championships in franchise history, they have yet to win any of those matchups to advance to the Super Bowl. Jacksonville had a playoff drought from 2008 to 2016 and made the conference championship in 2017, only to lose to the Patriots 24-20. The Jaguars have not made the playoffs since then.

Houston Texans

In the 20-year history of the Texans, they have not won a Super Bowl or even made an appearance. Houston has made the playoffs six times, but has never made it past the divisional round. Houston also did not make the playoffs in the first eight seasons of its franchise history.