What Is The Most Points Scored In A Super Bowl?

What Is The Most Points Scored In A Super Bowl

Every year, the Super Bowl brings together fans from across the United States and around the world for the biggest football game of the year. The game determines the annual champion of the National Football League (NFL). Naturally, with two of the best teams in the NFL facing off each year, there have been some high-scoring performances in the game over the years. Below, the four highest-scoring team performances in the Super Bowl are discussed.

What Is The Most Points Scored By A Team In The Super Bowl?

  1. 55 points: San Francisco 49ers at Super Bowl XXIV (1989-1990)
  2. 52 points: Dallas Cowboys at Super Bowl XXVII (1992-1993)
  3. 49 points: San Francisco 49ers at Super Bowl XXIX (1994-1995)
  4. 48 points: Tampa Bay Buccaneers at Super Bowl XXXVII (2002-2003)

Super Bowl XXIV (1989-1990): San Francisco 49ers

The Super Bowl that saw the team score the most points of all time was Super Bowl XXIV, the Super Bowl at the end of the 1989-1990 season. That year, the San Francisco 49ers, champions of the National Football Conference (NFC), faced off against the Denver Broncos, champions of the American Football Conference (AFC). The game was the fourth Super Bowl appearance for both teams, with the 49ers winning their previous three appearances and the Broncos losing their previous three. That trend continued in this game, as the 49ers destroyed the Broncos by a score of 55-10.

Not only was the 49ers’ 55 points a team points record, but the 45-point margin of victory is also a Super Bowl record. Legendary quarterback Joe Montana won the Super Bowl MVP Award, completing 22 of his 29 passes for 297 yards and a Super-Bowl-record five touchdown passes. Clearly, this is one of, if not the most dominating performances in a Super Bowl of all time.

Super Bowl XXVII (1992-1993): Dallas Cowboys

The next highest-scoring team performance in a Super Bowl took place at Super Bowl XXVII, in the 1992-1993 season. The “Big Game,” as it is often called, was between the AFC champion Buffalo Bills and the NFC champion Dallas Cowboys. It was the third appearance in a row for the Bills and the sixth overall for the Cowboys. The Cowboys already had two titles to their name, while the Bills were looking for their first. Unfortunately for the Bills, they never stood a chance, as the Cowboys dominated the game 52-17.

Dallas came up just three points short of the record San Francisco had set three years earlier. Troy Aikman, the Cowboys’ quarterback, was the game’s MVP, completing 22 of his 30 passes for 273 yards and four touchdowns. As for the Bills, they went on to lose the Super Bowl again the next year, their fourth in a row. They are the only team ever to do so.

Super Bowl XXIX (1994-1995): San Francisco 49ers

Returning to the game for the first time since their record performance in 1990, the San Francisco 49ers almost topped themselves at Super Bowl XXIX in the 1994-1995 season. This time, the NFC champion 49ers faced off with the San Diego Chargers of the AFC. It was the 49ers’ fifth appearance, while San Diego was making their first. While not quite as dominating as their 1990 counterparts, the 49ers still won this game rather easily by a score of 49-26. San Francisco quarterback Steve Young, who took over for Montana, broke his mentor’s touchdown passing record in this game. Young threw six touchdowns while completing 24 of his 36 passes for 325 yards to win the game’s MVP Award.

Super Bowl XXXVII (2002-2003): Tampa Bay Buccaneers

The fourth and final Super Bowl on this list is Super Bowl XXXVII from the 2002-2003 season. The NFC Champions that year were the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, and they faced off with the AFC Champion Oakland Raiders. It was the first-ever appearance for Tampa Bay, while the Raiders were making their fifth and had won three of their first four. It was Tampa who was the better team on this day, as the Buccaneers won going far and away by a score of 48-21. 

Unlike the three games mentioned above, a non-quarterback was named the MVP of this game, as Tampa Bay safety Dexter Jackson won the award after recording two of his team's record five interceptions in the game. Jackson was only the second safety and third defensive back ever to win the MVP of the Super Bowl.