Football Davey O'Brien Award

What is the Davey O'Brien Award in Football?

The Davey O'Brien Award is an award given annually to the best college football quarterback of the season. The award is presented to the winning quarterback at a dinner hosted in Fort Worth, Texas. The award is a way to recognize outstanding performance by student-athletes who play the quarterback position on and off the field. The winner is chosen by a mix of fan-vote and votes from a Selection Committee, and the student-athlete honored is announced at the Home Depot College Football Awards.

The award has been given by the Davey O'Brien foundation since 1977. The first editions were simply given to the best college football player of any position in the southwest. Only in 1981, it started recognizing quarterbacks from all NCAA schools in the country, as it continues to do to this day.

Notable Winners

Some notable players who have won the Davey O'Brien in the past are Peyton Manning, Cam Newton, Vince Young, and Vinny Testaverde. Given the nature of the position, it is very hard for quarterbacks to win the award more than once, but three athletes have done it in the past: Ty Detmer from BYU, Danny Wuerffel from Florida, and Deshaun Watson from Clemson. Players who win the Davey O'Brien get their names engraved in the Davey O'Brien trophy, as well as an induction to the Davey O'Brien Hall of Fame, in Fort Worth.