More Sportsamerican footballcoachingcollege footballfantasy footballflag football101articlesbowl gamesdefensive alignmentdrillsequipment listglossaryhow tokick typesleague typesnflnfl teamsoffensive formationsofficialspass typespenaltiesplayspositionsquestionsrulesscrimmage downsskillsstatisticsstrategiesteam staffthe fieldtrophies
  1. american football
  2. nfl
  3. nfl conferences

Football NFL Conferences

There are 32 teams who participate in the National Football League (NFL). The teams are split into two conferences, the NFC and AFC. Each conference consists of four divisions, North, East, West, and South with four teams in each division. The teams with the best win-loss record in their division advance to the playoffs. The winner of each conference will move on to play in the Super Bowl.

Table of Contents


After the AFL-NFL merger in 1970, the NFL decided to make two separate conferences named the NFC and AFC. At first, the league was very uneven with divisions having a different number of teams than other divisions in the league. In 2002 when the Houston Texans joined the NFL, the league was finally able to have a balanced conference and division setup, where each division consisted of four teams and had an equal amount of teams in each conference.

What Are the Differences?

The two conferences are pretty similar. Every year, teams in the same division will play teams from a different division and conference. For example, one year the NFC West teams will play all of the teams in the AFC North. Then the next year, it will rotate so NFC West teams will then play teams in the AFC East. Each team will play two games at home and two games on the road. In the Super Bowl era, the NFC has won 27 Super Bowl championships compared to 26 wins by the AFC.


Sports LeaguesSports TeamsFootball Articles