More Sportsamerican footballcoachingcollege footballfantasy footballflag football101articlesbowl gamesdefensive alignmentdrillsequipment listglossaryhow tokick typesleague typesnflnfl teamsoffensive formationsofficialspass typespenaltiesplayspositionsquestionsrulesscrimmage downsskillsstatisticsstrategiesteam staffthe fieldtrophies
  1. american football
  2. nfl
  3. nfl conference champions

Football NFL Conference Champions

Table of Contents

What are NFL Conference Champions in Football?

The NFL Conference champions are the teams that have reached and won their conference finals, that way guaranteeing a spot in the league's title game, the Super Bowl. The 32 NFL teams are divided into two conferences, the American Football Conference (AFC), and the National Football Conference. In the playoffs, AFC teams only face each other, as do the NFC teams. The last playoff game between teams from the same conference is called the conference final. By the time the playoffs are in the conference finals, there are only four teams left fighting for a spot at the Super Bowl, and so the conference finals can be seen as the NFL's semi-final stage. In the Super Bowl, the AFC champion and the NFC champion face each other.

Although certainly not the main goal, the conference finals are a much celebrated stage, and the conference champions are awarded trophies. The NFC Champion gets the George Halas trophy, and the AFC champion gets the Lamar Hunt trophy.


Football ArticlesSports Teams