HomeMore Sports


American Football101ArticlesBowl GamesCoachingCollege FootballDefensive AlignmentsDrillsEquipmentFlag FootballHistoryHow ToKick TypesLeaguesLingoNFL FootballFootball AFC EastFootball AFC NorthFootball AFC SouthFootball AFC WestFootball Accrued SeasonFootball All Star GameFootball All Star TeamFootball American Football ConferenceFootball Division WinnersFootball East West Shrine GameFootball Hall Of FameFootball NFC EastFootball NFC NorthFootball NFC SouthFootball NFC WestFootball NFLFootball NFL Bye WeekFootball NFL Championship GameFootball NFL Collective Bargaining AgreementFootball NFL Conference ChampionsFootball NFL ConferencesFootball NFL DivisionsFootball NFL DraftFootball NFL Draft PicksFootball NFL Franchise PlayerFootball NFL Franchise TeamFootball NFL MondayFootball NFL OffseasonFootball NFL Overtime RulesFootball NFL Playoff RulesFootball NFL PostseasonFootball NFL PreseasonFootball NFL Regular SeasonFootball NFL SundayFootball NFL Team RosterFootball NFL ThursdayFootball NFL WaiversFootball National Football ConferenceFootball Playoff SystemFootball Rooney NFL RuleFootball SalariesFootball Salary CapFootball Scouting CombineFootball Senior BowlFootball Super Bowl CommercialsFootball Super Bowl RulesFootball Vince LombardiFootball Wild CardFootball Wild Card TeamFootball Win Loss RecordWhat Is The Super Bowl In NFL Football?NFL TeamsOffensive FormationsOfficialsPass TypesPenaltiesPlayersPlaysPositionsQuestionsRulesScrimmage DownsSkillsStatisticsStrategyTeam StaffThe FieldTrophies
  1. Home
  2. American Football
  3. Football NFC West

Football NFC West

What is nfc west in football?

The NFC West is a division in the National Football Conference of the NFL. It is comprised of the Arizona Cardinals, Los Angeles Rams, San Francisco 49ers, and Seattle Seahawks.

The division was originally established at the start of the Super Bowl Era in 1967 as the NFL Coastal division made up of the Rams and 49ers as well as the Atlanta Falcons and Baltimore Colts. The New Orleans Saints replaced the Colts in 1970 when the AFL and NFL merged.

After playing their inaugural season in 1976 in the NFC West, the Seattle Seahawks left for the AFC, only to return during the 2002 division realignment along with the Arizona Cardinals, who replaced the Falcons. The Carolina Panthers spent the first seven years of their franchise in the West before moving to the NFC South in 2002.

NFC West Success

The San Francisco 49ers have accumulated 19 division crowns, with the Rams close behind with 17. The 49ers have had many more playoff victories, however, hoisting six Lombardi Trophies to the Rams one. The Seahawkas also have won Super Bowl win while the Cardinals have yet to win a ring.

The NFC West holds the record for having the worst record of a team that won the division title after the 2010 season saw the 7-9 Seahawks make their way into the playoffs.