HomeMore Sports


American Football101ArticlesBowl GamesCoachingCollege FootballDefensive AlignmentsDrillsEquipmentFlag FootballHistoryHow ToKick TypesLeaguesLingoNFL FootballFootball AFC EastFootball AFC NorthFootball AFC SouthFootball AFC WestFootball Accrued SeasonFootball All Star GameFootball All Star TeamFootball American Football ConferenceFootball Division WinnersFootball East West Shrine GameFootball Hall Of FameFootball NFC EastFootball NFC NorthFootball NFC SouthFootball NFC WestFootball NFLFootball NFL Bye WeekFootball NFL Championship GameFootball NFL Collective Bargaining AgreementFootball NFL Conference ChampionsFootball NFL ConferencesFootball NFL DivisionsFootball NFL DraftFootball NFL Draft PicksFootball NFL Franchise PlayerFootball NFL Franchise TeamFootball NFL MondayFootball NFL OffseasonFootball NFL Overtime RulesFootball NFL Playoff RulesFootball NFL PostseasonFootball NFL PreseasonFootball NFL Regular SeasonFootball NFL SundayFootball NFL Team RosterFootball NFL ThursdayFootball NFL WaiversFootball National Football ConferenceFootball Playoff SystemFootball Rooney NFL RuleFootball SalariesFootball Salary CapFootball Scouting CombineFootball Senior BowlFootball Super Bowl CommercialsFootball Super Bowl RulesFootball Vince LombardiFootball Wild CardFootball Wild Card TeamFootball Win Loss RecordWhat Is The Super Bowl In NFL Football?NFL TeamsOffensive FormationsOfficialsPass TypesPenaltiesPlayersPlaysPositionsQuestionsRulesScrimmage DownsSkillsStatisticsStrategyTeam StaffThe FieldTrophies
  1. Home
  2. American Football
  3. Football NFC South

Football NFC South

What is NFC South in Football?

The NFC South is one of the four divisions of the National Football Conference of the NFL. It is comprised of the Atlanta Falcons, Carolina Panthers, New Orleans Saints, and Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

The NFC South was created in 2002 when the NFL realigned the league's divisions. It is the youngest division in football along with the AFC South. All four current teams were original members.

Balanced History

The NFC South is not known for their overwhelming success, rather their consistency. Teams within the division rarely outshine one another, as it is the only division since its establishment to never have a team win all of its divisional matchups.

It is also the only division in this time period to have each of its members make an appearance in the Super Bowl. Tampa Bay and New Orleans both capitalized on their only chance, winning in 2003 and 2009 respectively, while Carolina (0-2) and Atlanta (0-1) have never hoisted the Lombardi Trophy.

The Saints and Panthers are tied with five division crowns a piece, with the Falcons close behind at four and the Buccaneers holding up the rear with three. Only twice, Carolina from 2013-2015 and New Orleans from 2017-2018, has a division winner won multiple years in a row, emphasizing how balanced the AFC South has been.

List of NFC South teams