Football NFC North

What is the NFC North in football?

The NFC North is one of the four divisions of the National Football Conference of the NFL. It comprises the Chicago Bears, Detroit Lions, Green Bay Packers, and Minnesota Vikings.

The division was created at the beginning of the Super Bowl era in 1967 as the Central division, which remained the name until 2002 when the NFL realigned their teams. The NFC North is the most consistent division in football in terms of past participants, as the four current teams were the four original ones. The only other member was the Tampa Bay Buccaneers from 1977-2001.

The NFC North houses arguably the greatest rivalry in football between the Chicago Bears and Green Bay Packers.

Playoff Performances

The Vikings lead the way with 20 division titles, followed by 15 from the Packers and 11 for the Bears. Minnesota has been historically bad at capitalizing on these playoff appearances, as they are 0-4 all-time in the Super Bowl. Green Bay on the other hand has four championships and Chicago has one.

The division has a combined 21 championships before the Super Bowl era. The Packers have nine, barely edging out the Bears’ total of eight. The Lions have won four.

Despite being one of the NFL’s oldest teams, the Lions only have three NFC North titles and haven’t yet made an appearance at the Super Bowl.

List of NFC North teams

  • Chicago Bears
  • Detroit Lions
  • Green Bay Packers
  • Minnesota Vikings