Football National Football Conference

What is the National Football Conference (NFC)?

The National Football Conference represents one half of the NFL and is comprised of the NFC East, NFC North, NFC South, and NFC West. The NFC used to just be known as the National Football League before the AFL/NFL merger, but switched names in 1970.

There were originally 13 teams in the NFC and three divisions within, however, the Seattle Seahawks, Tampa Bay Buccaneers, and Carolina Panthers were all added to the conference when their teams were formed or during the 2002 NFL division realignment.

Each NFC team will play mostly teams within the conference as part of their schedule. This includes six division games, four against an entire other NFC division, and then two against each team in the other two conference divisions that finished in the same place in the previous year in their respective division.

The NFC has been slightly more successful than their AFC counterparts, totaling 25 Super Bowl Trophies compared to 24.

The winner of the NFC conference championship receives the George Halas trophy. The Dallas Cowboys have the most championships in the conference with eight.

The Detroit Lions are the only NFC team to have never appeared in a Super Bowl.

List of NFC teams

NFC East

  • Dallas Cowboys
  • New York Giants
  • Philadelphia Eagles
  • Washington Redskins

NFC North

  • Chicago Bears
  • Detroit Lions
  • Green Bay Packers
  • Minnesota Vikings

NFC South

  • Atlanta Falcons
  • Carolina Panthers
  • New Orleans Saints
  • Tampa Bay Buccaneers

NFC West

  • Arizona Cardinals
  • Los Angeles Rams
  • San Francisco 49ers
  • Seattle Seahawks