Football Icon

Football Afc South

What is football afc south? Get ready to learn about afc south in football.

What is afc south in football?

The AFC South is a division in the American Football Conference of the NFL. It is comprised of the Houston Texans, Indianapolis Colts, Jacksonville Jaguars, and Tennessee Titans.

The division was created in 2002 after the NFL team realignment when the Texans entered the league as the most recent expansion team. The AFC South is the only division the conference to have only had four teams in its existence.

The Indianapolis Colts are ahead of the pack with nine division titles and are the only AFC South team that has won a Super Bowl while a part of the division. The Colts are also the only team to make the Super Bowl with two total appearances.

The Indianapolis Colts and Tennessee Titans have three more and two AFL/NFL championships respectively, however this was before the AFC South existed and occurred with the franchises were in Baltimore and Houston.

AFC South woes

Jacksonville has had the least success out of the four teams, with only one division title (2017) in their history.

Despite the lack of postseason heroics, the division as sent multiple teams to the playoffs in 8/17 years, including three in 2007, a year in which no AFC South team had a losing record.

The AFC South as a whole has the worst winning percentage of divisions in the AFC since realignment at 49.1% (534-554).

List of AFC South teams

Search Results