HomeMore Sports


American Football101ArticlesBowl GamesCoachingCollege FootballDefensive AlignmentsDrillsEquipmentFlag FootballHistoryHow ToKick TypesLeaguesLingoNFL FootballFootball AFC EastFootball AFC NorthFootball AFC SouthFootball AFC WestFootball Accrued SeasonFootball All Star GameFootball All Star TeamFootball American Football ConferenceFootball Division WinnersFootball East West Shrine GameFootball Hall Of FameFootball NFC EastFootball NFC NorthFootball NFC SouthFootball NFC WestFootball NFLFootball NFL Bye WeekFootball NFL Championship GameFootball NFL Collective Bargaining AgreementFootball NFL Conference ChampionsFootball NFL ConferencesFootball NFL DivisionsFootball NFL DraftFootball NFL Draft PicksFootball NFL Franchise PlayerFootball NFL Franchise TeamFootball NFL MondayFootball NFL OffseasonFootball NFL Overtime RulesFootball NFL Playoff RulesFootball NFL PostseasonFootball NFL PreseasonFootball NFL Regular SeasonFootball NFL SundayFootball NFL Team RosterFootball NFL ThursdayFootball NFL WaiversFootball National Football ConferenceFootball Playoff SystemFootball Rooney NFL RuleFootball SalariesFootball Salary CapFootball Scouting CombineFootball Senior BowlFootball Super Bowl CommercialsFootball Super Bowl RulesFootball Vince LombardiFootball Wild CardFootball Wild Card TeamFootball Win Loss RecordWhat Is The Super Bowl In NFL Football?NFL TeamsOffensive FormationsOfficialsPass TypesPenaltiesPlayersPlaysPositionsQuestionsRulesScrimmage DownsSkillsStatisticsStrategyTeam StaffThe FieldTrophies
  1. Home
  2. American Football
  3. Football AFC North

Football AFC North

What is afc north in football?

The AFC North is one of the four divisions in the American Football Conference of the National Football League. It is comprised of the Baltimore Ravens, Cincinnati Bengals, Cleveland Browns, and Pittsburgh Steelers.

The division was originally known as the AFC Central before NFL realignment in 2002. The AFC Central was created in 1970 with the Houston Oilers joining the Bengals, Browns, and Steelers as founding members.

The expansion Jacksonville Jaguars played in the AFC Central for seven seasons before leaving along with the relocated Tennessee Titans to the AFC South in 2002.

AFC North success

The Steelers have the most division titles with 23 and have six of the eight Super Bowl titles from the AFC North. The Ravens claim the other two. Pittsburgh also has eight AFC conference championships, more than the rest of the division combined (Cincinnati 2, Baltimore 2, Tennessee 1).

The AFC North has been a dominant division in football in the 21st century, with an eight year span of sending multiple teams to the playoffs in all but one year.

Paul Brown

Three of the teams in the division, the Bengals, Browns, and Ravens owe their existence and prosperity to Paul Brown. The namesake of Cleveland's team, the coach and general manager was a partial founder of both Cincinnati and their cross-state rival. The Browns franchise moved to Baltimore in 1996, cementing Paul Brown's legacy in the AFC North.