HomeMore Sports


American Football101ArticlesBowl GamesCoachingCollege FootballDefensive AlignmentsDrillsEquipmentFlag FootballHistoryHow ToKick TypesLeaguesLingoNFL FootballFootball AFC EastFootball AFC NorthFootball AFC SouthFootball AFC WestFootball Accrued SeasonFootball All Star GameFootball All Star TeamFootball American Football ConferenceFootball Division WinnersFootball East West Shrine GameFootball Hall Of FameFootball NFC EastFootball NFC NorthFootball NFC SouthFootball NFC WestFootball NFLFootball NFL Bye WeekFootball NFL Championship GameFootball NFL Collective Bargaining AgreementFootball NFL Conference ChampionsFootball NFL ConferencesFootball NFL DivisionsFootball NFL DraftFootball NFL Draft PicksFootball NFL Franchise PlayerFootball NFL Franchise TeamFootball NFL MondayFootball NFL OffseasonFootball NFL Overtime RulesFootball NFL Playoff RulesFootball NFL PostseasonFootball NFL PreseasonFootball NFL Regular SeasonFootball NFL SundayFootball NFL Team RosterFootball NFL ThursdayFootball NFL WaiversFootball National Football ConferenceFootball Playoff SystemFootball Rooney NFL RuleFootball SalariesFootball Salary CapFootball Scouting CombineFootball Senior BowlFootball Super Bowl CommercialsFootball Super Bowl RulesFootball Vince LombardiFootball Wild CardFootball Wild Card TeamFootball Win Loss RecordWhat Is The Super Bowl In NFL Football?NFL TeamsOffensive FormationsOfficialsPass TypesPenaltiesPlayersPlaysPositionsQuestionsRulesScrimmage DownsSkillsStatisticsStrategyTeam StaffThe FieldTrophies
  1. Home
  2. American Football
  3. Football AFC East

Football AFC East

What is afc east in football?

The AFC East is division in the American Football Conference of the NFL. It is comprised of the Buffalo Bills, Miami Dolphins, New England Patriots, and New York Jets.

The division was created in 1960 as part of the American Football League. The Houston Oilers joined the Jets, Bills, and Boston Patriots as the founding members of the division. The Dolphins would join in 1966 and Houston left to join the AFC Central in 1970, the same year that the Baltimore Colts would join the AFC East.

Baltimore relocated to Indianapolis in 1984 and eventually left the division after the NFL realignment in 2002.

Belichick Domination

The New England Patriots have the most division titles with 20 and have six of the nine Super Bowl rings in the division. The Dolphins have two championships while the Jets have one. All six Super Bowls for the Patriots have been won by head coach Bill Belichick's teams. While less successful in the Super Bowl Era, the Bills (2), Jets (1), and Oilers (2), each captured AFL championship titles.

The Patriots have 11 AFC championship crowns, unrivaled by the five accumulated by the Dolphins and four by the Bills.

New England has been especially dominant in the 21st century, winning 16 of the last 17 division titles, with Miami breaking the streak in 2008 due in part to Tom Brady's injury.

Temperature Disparity

The AFC East is known for its contrasting weather, as the climate is vastly different in Miami compared to the rest of the teams. With the largest North to South difference in mileage of any AFC division, teams will see intense heat and snow at any time of year.