HomeMore Sports


American Football101ArticlesBowl GamesCoachingCollege FootballDefensive AlignmentsDrillsEquipmentFlag FootballHistoryHow ToKick TypesLeaguesLingoNFL FootballFootball AFC EastFootball AFC NorthFootball AFC SouthFootball AFC WestFootball Accrued SeasonFootball All Star GameFootball All Star TeamFootball American Football ConferenceFootball Division WinnersFootball East West Shrine GameFootball Hall Of FameFootball NFC EastFootball NFC NorthFootball NFC SouthFootball NFC WestFootball NFLFootball NFL Bye WeekFootball NFL Championship GameFootball NFL Collective Bargaining AgreementFootball NFL Conference ChampionsFootball NFL ConferencesFootball NFL DivisionsFootball NFL DraftFootball NFL Draft PicksFootball NFL Franchise PlayerFootball NFL Franchise TeamFootball NFL MondayFootball NFL OffseasonFootball NFL Overtime RulesFootball NFL Playoff RulesFootball NFL PostseasonFootball NFL PreseasonFootball NFL Regular SeasonFootball NFL SundayFootball NFL Team RosterFootball NFL ThursdayFootball NFL WaiversFootball National Football ConferenceFootball Playoff SystemFootball Rooney NFL RuleFootball SalariesFootball Salary CapFootball Scouting CombineFootball Senior BowlFootball Super Bowl CommercialsFootball Super Bowl RulesFootball Vince LombardiFootball Wild CardFootball Wild Card TeamFootball Win Loss RecordWhat Is The Super Bowl In NFL Football?NFL TeamsOffensive FormationsOfficialsPass TypesPenaltiesPlayersPlaysPositionsQuestionsRulesScrimmage DownsSkillsStatisticsStrategyTeam StaffThe FieldTrophies
  1. Home
  2. American Football
  3. Football NFL

Football NFL


The National Football League (NFL) was founded on September 17, 1920. The NFL came about from a meeting held by several men in Canton, Ohio. The NFL was first called the American Professional Football Association but was later given the name it still has in 1922. Although professional football had been played in the United States since 1892, the sport needed more organization and structure. At the meeting in Ohio, 11 franchises were present and by the time the league started there were 14 teams. The first league game was played on September 26, 1920. The league now has 36 teams across the country and has been expanding since it began.

League Structure

Although the league structure has changed throughout the years, the NFL now consists of two conferences. The conferences are named the National Football Conference (NFC) and the American Football Conference (AFC). Under each of these conferences there are 16 teams and under those teams there are four divisions: North, South, East and West. although the divisions have geographical names, teams do not necessarily match up geographically to the division they are in. Each team in the NFL plays 16 regular season games. If a team qualifies, they make it to the playoffs and continue into the postseason.

The Super Bowl

In terms of annual events, the Super Bowl is one of the most watched in the world. It started in 1967. It is the championship game for the NFL is played against the winners of the NFC and AFC conferences. The Super Bowl usually takes place on the first Sunday of February. Football fans often host parties with lots of food and even decorations in celebration of the Super Bowl. Not only is the Super Bowl in itself super exciting, but lots of people also enjoy the commercials and halftime show. The halftime show is a concert that takes place during the duration of halftime.