Football Icon

Tampa Bay Buccaneers

What is tampa bay buccaneers? Get ready to learn about tampa bay buccaneers in football.

Tampa Bay Buccaneers

The Tampa Bay Buccaneers were created in 1976 as an expansion franchise from the NFL. The Bucs played their first season in the American Football Conference before moving to the NFC in 1977.

Tampa Bay was unable to record their first win until 27 games into their existence, marking the worst opening losing streak in NFL history. Defensive end Lee Roy Selmon became a hall of famer despite a staple on these miserable teams.

Former USC head coach John McKay was the first signal caller for the new franchise and helped to build their eventual success.

Quarterback Doug Williams led the Bucs to multiple playoff appearances, a highlight before an infamous stretch of 12 double-digit loss seasons.

Tony Dungy

The Bucs revamped their roster after head coach Tony Dungy took over the team. Linebacker Derrick Brooks, tackle Warren Sapp, safety John Lynch, and defensive back Ronde Barber led a ferocious defensive unit.

The offense under Dungy struggled, however, and he was fired after his team's lack of postseason success.

Jon Gruden

Tampa Bay hired Jon Gruden to fix their offensive woes, and still with the NFL's best defense they were able to beat the Philadelphia Eagles to secure a spot in Super Bowl XXXVII. The Bucs handily beat the Oakland Raiders by 27 points to win the franchises first Super Bowl.

In the seasons after Gruden's departure, the Bucs have seen mediocre and disastrous seasons, with no luck in returning to playoff football.

The Buccaneers play in the AFC South alongside the Carolina Panthers, Atlanta Falcons, and New Orleans Saints.

  • Founding Year: 1974
  • City: Tampa, FL
  • Conference: NFC
  • Number of Super Bowls: 1 (2003)
  • Mascot: Captain Fear
  • Owner: The Glazer Family
  • Head Coach: Bruce Arians
  • Stadium: Raymond James Stadium

Search Results