Seattle Seahawks

Seattle Seahawks

The Seattle Seahawks became an expansion team in the NFL in 1974. They began their first season in 1976 and ended the year with a record of 2-12. The Seahawks' first head coach was Jack Paterna, a former Minnesota Vikings assistant. The Seahaks went 9-7 in 1978 and 1979, and Jack Paterna was named NFL Coach of the Year in 1979.

After Jack Paterna and the Seahawks parted ways after six seasons, Chuck Knox became the head coach in 1983. In his first season, Knox led the Seahawks to the AFC Championship game. They had defeated Denver in the Wild-Card game, and then beat Miami in the Divisional Round, before losing to the Los Angeles Raiders.

Steve Largent is considered one of the best, if not the best, Seattle Seahawk of all time. Largent played 14 seasons at Wide Receiver for the Seahawks, and by the time he retired, he held six all-time NFL receiving records.

The Seattle Seahawks play in the NFC West along with the San Francisco 49ers, Arizona Cardinals, and the Los Angeles Rams.

Mike Holmgren

Mike Holgren became the coach of the Seattle Seahawks in 1999. He was the head coach of the Seahawks for 10 seasons.

During his time as head coach, Holmgren had a record of 86-74 with the Seahawks and only experienced a losing season 3 times out of his 10 seasons.

Holmgren led the Seahawks to their first ever Super Bowl appearance in 2006, where they lost to the Pittsburgh Steelers 21-10. The Seahawks had an exceptional regular season prior to their Super Bowl appearance, where they ended the year with a 13-3 record.

Pete Carroll

Pete Carroll took over the head coach position after Holmgren. Pete Carroll had great success at the collegiate level prior to his job with the Seahawks, where he led USC to two straight National Championship appearances, and winning one of those National Championships in 2004.

Carroll has had great success with the Seahawks and remains one of the top coaches in NFL to this day. He led the Seahawks to their first ever Super Bowl win in 2014 over the Denver Broncos.

  • Founding Year: 1974
  • City: Seattle, WA
  • Conference: NFC
  • Number of Super Bowls: 1 (2014)
  • Mascot: Boom and Blitz
  • Owner: Paul Allen Estate
  • Head Coach: Pete Carroll
  • Stadium: CenturyLink Field