1. Home
  2. American Football
  3. Philadelphia Eagles

Philadelphia Eagles

Table of Contents

Philadelphia Eagles

The Philadelphia Eagles are a Philadelphia team in the NFL. They are only one of two NFL teams from Pennsylvania. The team was created in 1933 when a Philadelphia businessman took over a failing franchise named the Frankford Yellow Jackets and rebranded the team to the Eagles. Distinguished Eagles from the past players include Donovan McNabb, Terrell Owens, and Brian Dawkins. Their home stadium is Lincoln Financial Field in Philadelphia and players come decked out in Eagles green and black.

However, many people may have learned about the Eagles because of their 2017 Super Bowl championship title against the New England Patriots in February of 2018. Nick Foles, a back-up quarterback, lead the team to victory. The team's win is said to be thanks to a play called "The Philly Special" where Foles was the player to score a touchdown.

Philadelphia Eagles fans have developed a reputation for being loud and obnoxious by outsiders, especially since the 2017 win where fans lined the streets and celebrated for days after the game. Many injuries and damages occurred from the celebrations and the city required clean up for multiple days after the event. The event was so large that streets were completed shut down getting in and out of Philadelphia.

In 2016, the Eagles brought on Doug Pederson as coach, who was a previous Kansas City coach. Pederson followed Andy Reid, who was a head coach starting in 1999.

Some of their most prominent rivals are the Dallas Cowboys, Pittsburgh Steelers and the Washington Redskins. Since Pittsburgh is the only other Pennsylvania NFL team, there is a rivalry between the east and west parts of the state. Washington Redskins is another team where the Eagles always meet competition and challenges. The Cowboys have typically always been neck and neck each season dating back to the first appearance of both teams.

Fun fact: The first time the Eagles ever played against the Cowboys back in 1960 the Eagles won.

Founding Year: 1933

  • City: Philadelphia, PA
  • Conference: NFC
  • Number of Super Bowls: 1 (2018)
  • Mascot: Swoop
  • Owner: Jeffrey Lurie
  • Head Coach: Doug Pederson
  • Stadium: Lincoln Financial Field