New Orleans Saints

New Orleans Saints

Prior to the 1966 season, the New Orleans Saints were founded and set to play in New Orleans, LA. This team began to play in the NFL in 1967. Notable Saints players include Drew Brees, Alvin Kamara and Marques Colston.

  • Founding Year: 1966
  • City: New Orleans, LA
  • Conference: NFC
  • Division: South
  • Number of Super Bowls: 1 (2009)
  • Mascot: Gumbo and Sir Saint
  • Owner: Gayle Benson
  • Head Coach: Sean Payton
  • Stadium: Mercedes-Benz Superdome


The New Orleans Saints were the 16 NFL franchise to join the league and currently play in the NFC South with the likes of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Carolina Panthers, and the Atlanta Falcons. The Falcons are the Saints biggest rival due to playing in the same division as well as both joining the league just one year apart. The early beginnings for the Saints were extremely tough as the team would go on to lose 11 of the 14 games in their first season. The Saints struggles were so pronounced that they did not even have a winning season until 1987, 20 seasons after joining the league.

Drew Brees

The best player in Saints history is undoubtedly Drew Brees. Brees was a 2nd Round draft pick in the 2001 Draft to the San Diego Chargers. His career took a serious boost when he signed a free agent deal with the Saints in 2006. Up to this date, Brees has gone to 11 Pro Bowls with the team and was the MVP when the Saints won XLIV in 2009. He has also broken many NFL records that include the most career passing yards and most consecutive games with a touchdown pass.

Hurricane Katrina

One important moment in Saints history involved the effects of Hurricane Katrina in 2005. New Orleans was devastated by the damage and the city rallied around the team to bring hope back to the community. After playing a season away from the Superdome, they returned in 2006 to New Orleans on September 25 to face the Falcons. The packed stadium saw a 23-3 victory for the Saints as they ended up ending the season 13-3, resulting in a trip to the NFC Championship game for the first time in the franchise's history.