Football Icon

Miami Dolphins

What is miami dolphins? Get ready to learn about miami dolphins in football.

Miami Dolphins

The Miami Dolphins were established in 1965 in Miami and played in the AFL. In 1970, the Dolphins joined the NFL. Distinguished Dolphins players include Dan Marino, Bob Griese, and Jason Taylor.

  • Founding Year: 1965
  • City: Miami, FL
  • Conference: AFC
  • Division: East
  • Number of Super Bowls: 2 (Most recent: 1973)
  • Mascot: T.D. (The Dolphin)
  • Owner: Stephen M. Ross
  • Head Coach: Brian Flores
  • Stadium: Hard Rock Stadium


After being founded in 1965 and joining the NFL in 1970, the Dolphins found early success. With Don Shula as their head coach, the Dolphins made it to a Super Bowl in 1971 before losing to the Dallas Cowboys. The 1972 Dolphins completed the best season ever seen in the NFL, as they went on to achieve a perfect record that cultivated in a Super Bowl VII win. This was the only time in NFL history that a team did not lose a single game in the regular season or postseason. They followed up the perfect season with another dominating year, winning Super Bowl VII in 1973. The team would not show flashes of dominance again until the 1980s and 1990s. Throughout these years the team produced many good seasons that would often result in a spot in the playoffs. Despite all of these playoff appearances, they only went on to win 2 more AFC championships and were never able to claim another Super Bowl. The modern day Dolphins have not fared well at all. With only 2 playoff appearances since 2001, the team is currently looking to rebuild to get back to winning ways.

Dan Marino

The best player in dolphins history is Dan Marino. The QB was taken in the first round of the 1983 Draft with the 27th overall pick by the team and went on to play his whole career with Miami. Although he never won a Super Bowl, Marino did make 9 Pro Bowls as well as winning league MVP in 1984. He led the team during some of their better years and because of his contributions to the dolphins, they retired his number 13 jersey. Marino is also a member of the NFL Hall of Fame.


The Dolphins play in the AFC East with their 3 main rivals. These teams are the New England Patriots, New York Jets, and the Buffalo Bills. They have played at Hard Rock Stadium since its opening for the 1987 season. The Dolphins nickname is the Fins.

Search Results