More Sportsamerican footballcoachingcollege footballfantasy footballflag football101articlesbowl gamesdefensive alignmentdrillsequipment listglossaryhow tokick typesleague typesnflnfl teamsoffensive formationsofficialspass typespenaltiesplayspositionsquestionsrulesscrimmage downsskillsstatisticsstrategiesteam staffthe fieldtrophies
  1. american football
  2. nfl teams
  3. los angeles chargers

Los Angeles Chargers

Table of Contents

Los Angeles Chargers

The Los Angeles Chargers were first created in 1959 as a member of the AFL. The Chargers played in Los Angeles for one year before heading south to San Diego. The Chargers played in San Diego until 2017 and then moved back to Los Angeles. Famous players for the Chargers include LaDainian Tomlinson, Junior Seau and Philip Rivers.

  • Founding Year: 1959
  • City: Los Angeles, CA
  • Conference: AFC
  • Division: West
  • Number of Super Bowls: 0
  • Mascot: None
  • Owner: Dean Spanos
  • Head Coach: Anthony Lynn
  • Stadium: Dignity Health Sports Park


After entering the AFL in 1959 as the Los Angeles Chargers, moved down the coast to play in San Diego in 1961. An AFL championship followed in 1963 and after some successful years in the AFL, the team found itself joining the NFL as apart of the AFL-NFL merger in 1970. The team could not find the same success during the early 1970's as they did during their time in the AFL. A successful period of 4 years came from 1979-1982, when the Chargers were able to reach the playoffs all 4 times. Although they were unable to reach a Super Bowl, it was a step in the right direction for the still relatively young franchise.

The team then found themselves in another dry spell up until the early 1990's when they ended up making it to the Super Bowl for the first time in franchise history. The Chargers ended up losing to the San Francisco 49ers, but morale was high after a great season nonetheless. The early 2000's brought playoff appearances but ultimately, the team could not make it back to the biggest game in football. In recent years, the team moved back to Los Angeles and will eventually move into a brand new shared stadium with the Los Angeles Rams for the 2020 season.

LaDainian Tomlinson

Ladainian Tomlinson is considered to be one of the greatest Chargers of all time. "L.T." was the Chargers first round pick in 2001 and played with the team up until 2009. Tomlinson holds many records and accolades from an outstanding career as a RB. He was a 5 time Pro Bowler and was even named NFL MVP in 2006. He owns the record for most rushing touchdowns in a season and for most consecutive games with a touchdown. Tomlinson is a member of the Professional Football Hall of Fame.


The Los Angeles Chargers play in the AFC west with rivals Denver Broncos, Kansas City Chiefs, and the Oakland Raiders. The team traditionally wears navy blue with gold accents, but for the 2019 season changed to their powder blue and gold uniforms as their primary set.


Football ArticlesSports QuestionsSports Teams