Kansas City Chiefs

Kansas City Chiefs

The Kansas City Chiefs were first established in 1960 and were known as the Dallas Texans and played in the AFL. In 1963, the franchise relocated to Kansas City and became known as the Chiefs. In 1970, the Chiefs joined the NFL.

The Chiefs have appeared in two Super Bowls since the franchise made its debut. They lost the first Super Bowl ever to the Green Bay Packers in 1966, but then won the Super Bowl in 1969 against the Minnesota Vikings.

  • Founding Year: 1959
  • City: Kansas City, MO
  • Conference: AFC
  • Number of Super Bowls: 0
  • Mascot: K.C. Wolf
  • Owner: The Hunt Family
  • Head Coach: Andy Reid
  • Stadium: Arrowhead Stadium

Notable Chiefs players include Patrick Mahomes, Tony Gonzalez and Priest Holmes.

Players of the Past

The Chiefs have had great talent come through Kansas City since their founding. A former NFL great, Derrick Thomas, was drafted by the Chiefs in 1989. Thomas spent his entire career with the Chiefs, where he totaled the most sacks during the 1990s.

Tony Gonzalez is one of the most prolific tight ends in NFL history and began his career with the Chiefs in 1997. He played in Kansas City for 12 seasons and was known for his year by year consistency through his 17 year career. When he retired, he finished with the second most receptions in NFL history and he owns the record for most games in a row with one or more receptions.

Patrick Mahomes

Although Mahomes has only had two seasons in the NFL, he has already made his presence known around the league. In his second year, which was his first year starting, he won NFL MVP after throwing for over 5,000 yards and 50 touchdowns. Mahomes is very young and his potential is eye-opening, even after just playing in one year in the NFL.

Mahomes led the Chiefs to the AFC Championship in 2019, but fell to the Patriots in overtime after an extremely entertaining game.