Football Icon

Houston Texans

What is houston texans? Get ready to learn about houston texans in football.

Houston Texans

The Houston Texans were established in 1999 as an expansion team and played their first season in the NFL in 2002. The Texans were created in the wake of the Oilers franchise leaving Houston for Tennessee. Houston is the most recent team to join the league.

The Texans play in the AFC South with their rivals the Indianapolis Colts, Tennessee Titans, and Jacksonville Jaguars.

Matt Schaub

After seven years in the league, the Texas finally won more games than they lost, led by quarterback Matt Schaub and wide receiver Andre Johnson. Houston's first ever division title was obtained in 2011. Edge rusher and former first pick Mario Williams was instrumental in the defensive success of these Texan's teams.

Schaub is far and away the most successful QB in the team's short history.

Pro Bowlers

Since 2012, the Texans franchise has been riddled with injuries with occasional playoff appearances. However, Houston has had no shortage of star-power.

Defensive end J.J. Watt has already solidified himself as a hall of fame candidate after monstrous defensive MVP seasons.

Wide receiver DeAndre Hopkins has earned three pro bowl selections in his short career as one of the best catchers in the league.

The future of the Texans rests on the shoulders of quarterback Deshaun Watson. Watson has led Houston to multiple division titles but injury problems have slowed his rise to stardom.

  • Founding Year: 1999
  • City: Houston, TX
  • Conference: AFC
  • Number of Super Bowls: 0
  • Mascot: Toro
  • Owner: Janice McNair and Cal D. McNair
  • Head Coach: Bill O'Brien
  • Stadium: NRG Stadium

Search Results